Those you clapped for today, might give you a standing ovation tomorrow. Don't envy, just learn.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When you see someone who has gone ahead of you in any of life's pursuits, what do you? Do you envy or do you learn from that person?

We have a popular naija proverb which says, "this life na turn by turn". We all don't move at the same pace. We are not weird the same way. Some are fast learners while others are slow learners. Some are ahead because they started before you. Whichever way, the first doesn't always end up to be the best. 

If you find yourself among those on the lower part of the ladder, don't envy those at the top. Learn from them, ask questions to know how they got to where they are. Look for a role model to be inspired by. 

Don't bother yourself about people's attitudes for as long as they have what you want. Be focused on what you want and not who they are. Learn to eat the fish and throw away the bone. 

Naturally, I'm the type of person that will throw away the fish just because I found bones in it, but not anymore. Since I became friends with @ehiboss, I've learnt so much from him. I joined steemit a month before he joined, but he's ahead already (although my being sick for over two months has a huge role to play in this). Am I supposed to be jealous of him? Hell no! Except if I am a stupid person. 

What I do is learn from him. I noticed he thinks ahead of time. He knows how to focus on what he wants and not complaining about what is wrong. He has gone ahead, but I can overtake through learning from him...😂.  Even when someone you were previously ahead of goes higher, don't envy, just learn... Am I encouraging unhealthy competition? No, not at all. But a friendly alliance with people who are successful is vital if we want to remain at the top or ever go higher. 

Envying people ahead of you can never stop them from progressing, it will only affect your own growth. 

Stop "the envying" and adopt "the learning". 
Someone you merely clapped for today because he did well, might stand up to give you a standing ovation tomorrow because you will do better. 

Note
I apologize to all those I didn't reply their comments or messages, I'll do that later. 

All images are from imgur.com

THANK YOU FOR READING 

I READ AND APPRECIATE ALL COMMENTS 

IF YOU LIKE MY ACTIVITIES HERE AND WILL LOVE TO SUPPORT ME, PLEASE UPVOTE, RESTEEM AND COMMENT. 

WOULD YOU LIKE TO TIP ME? I WILL HUMBLY APPRECIATE IT. 


Steem
@ogoowinner
Etherum
0x007BEd911D2D1a9a37D6507347287D52521FB689
Bitcoin
19W2Y9oi8NPDEgGYe3oJ3Qf7Kx7am8noXp


@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me 

Sort:  

Great stuff! Life na turn by turn. The key is gratitude, when you are grateful for the small things you will receive bigger things and you will have no reeson to be jealous or envious of someone. You and @ehiboss are among those I look up to in the Nigerian community. Keep up the good work.

Hi @ogoowinner, this is first post I'll ever read today and I must say I'm impressed so I have to give my 100% upvote.. Though it may be small but I hope it worth something.

My word to the world
A poor man today might be the richest tomorrow.
so be happy at other people's success.

@bob-elr

I love the depth of delivery on this one. Envy is not a healthy way to go forward. Being a student for life is what guarantees maximum output out of the life we have. It is said that the day we stop learning, that very day, we start dying. Maybe we only need one word or sentence from that person who has made it already, maybe that word is just the missing link we have been looking for, envy just pushes us into losing everything if not managed well. Thanks for sharing this beautiful thought this morning. I just learnt something from you too.

the first doesn't always end up to be the best
True talk.

This is a mental breakfast, thanks @ogoowinner

Over time,ive cultivated a culture of attracting that which I admire. So if I see my friends succeeding at a particular thing, albeit it's quite natural to get jealous but I try to support them and be thankful with them. As if I actually achieved the feat myself. You captured this beautifully as you said :

If you find yourself among those on the lower part of the ladder, don't envy those at the top. Learn from them, ask questions to know how they got to where they are. Look for a role model to be inspired by.

I loved the read @ogoowinner

Hello @ogoowinner

We have a popular naija proverb which says, "this life na turn by turn". We all don't move at the same pace.

When people learn to accept this, life will much easier. What will be one's will be, nothing can bring it forward than the appropriated time.

(although my being sick for over two months has a huge role to play in this).

Sorry about your illness. Hope you've dealt with it well.

Stop "the envying" and adopt "the learning".

You've said it all. Thank you for sharing. Lemme zoom off to learn some new things and not envy you. 😁


@learnandteach01

This is very true, a typical example is that of the swimmer, Joseph Schooling. Joseph Schooling meets his hero, Michael Phelps, in 2008. He was 13. Eight years later(2016) Joseph Schooling, now 21,beats his hero in the 100m butterfly swimming competition


Keep steeming.

the first doesn't always end up to be the best.

Certainly
It dosent matters how far?
But how well?
Slow and steady wins the race

life na je-je. if we begin get mind wish every body well, life done good for us be dat @ogoowinner ur post make sense

Words to live by! This is an important lesson to keep in mind, and I have heard similar teachings before but never quite like it was phrased in the naija proverb, I liked it a lot.

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39