If you died today, what would you be remembered for?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I Know this sounds odd. People do not want to be reminded about death. Most of us want to live long. However, it is important to note that most of the dead never wanted to die. Something happened, and they died. One out of one, always dies. As a matter of fact, the risk of dying is very high these days regarding all the terror attacks, stray bullets, wars, chronic diseases. Etc. 

Since it is certain that sonner or later, we are all going to die, we have to ask ourselves this important question. Which is :

What will I be remembered for when I die? 


Will you be remembered for treating others cruelly? 

Or will you be remembered for your kindness?  


This thought came to my heart because I lost a relative today. In addition to that, I have been having heartaches today. As I type this article now, I might post it and you'll never hear from me again. I might die. Thought it's not my wish, but death is inevitable.

We have limited time on this earth. We should try as much as possible to positively affect other people before we leave this earth.

You mustn't be a millionaire before you can help the neighborh next door who is in need. The very insignificant help you offer, might be all they need to survive.

You mustn't be comfortable before you can comfort another soul. You could be crying, yet offer your shoulders for another person to lean on.  

This reminds me of times when life was very cruel to me. On a certain day while I was feeling depressed and hopeless. The business I just started with a borrowed funds crumbled. I walked down to a Catholic Church around my house. I went there because, the church was close to a busy market. I just wanted to look around, get some fresh air, then go back. But a little girl came to me where I was, she begged for money, according to her, she hasn't eaten anything since yesterday. She told me some sad stories. I wasn't able to help her because of my own problems. But I was able to give the money I had on me even though it was my last bucks. That day, I went home feeling relieved deep inside of me.

Life is not worth living when you live for yourself alone.


If you can't invent things that would be useful to the world, you can be of help to a single soul desperately in need.

The greatest thing to do, is to live a life that has positive impact on others.

Please I'll like you to answer these two questions with all sincerity.

If I had died today, what would you remember me for?

If you died today, what will you be remembered for.

I'm so sorry that I couldn't reply most of your comments on my recent posts, that's due to some issues. 

My post payouts for smart and simple ways to change your life for good part one, is out. I will share 20% of the liquid payouts among all those who made constructive comments on the post. 

Image source: imgur.com

Thanks for Reading

If you like my Post, please Resteem, Upvote and Follow.


This beautiful badge was made for me by @elyaque.

Sort:  

I am sorry for your lose. Great post. I will be remember by being great to children, good brother and compassionate person.

I have also lost the dear people, I understand well of thing it speaks and I believe to be able to affirm that after all we will never die, we will keep on living in the heart and in the mind of the people that they have loved each other.

I am a regenerative rainforest steward and sustainable cacao farmer living life in love. I am a Damien soul who supports all life. Be sure to check me out. Thank you.

Talamanca Organica Cacao and Fine Chocolate

MISSION: Maintain integrity of Costa Rican Talamancan indigenous biodiversity and support rain forest sustainability through regenerative cacao production, education and conservation, by providing the best cacao and chocolate to local businesses and international tourists while in harmony with Mother Nature.

Come and visit!

Sorry to hear about your loss, I really sometimes undergo the same thing and realize what a short life it is.

Life is sometimes a trick to all of us. When one was young, you may long for growing up asap to be your own self. When reaching an age of maturity, you wish things would go back to where it started, and as if you were able to fix, many things. An utmost wish but we are no saint, after all.

Dragging myself over ups and downs of life, I want any bit of my life shall leave behind a story. Be it sad or happy. And that, I've lived my life in my self-set way, and up to what my heart have told me to. A life of being able to see beauty, values in this harsh world. A life of being able to wander & have no set burden of expectations from people around. A life of being able to stay who you are, even you may be a weirdo. A simple story to be told, and make people feel relieved for any second of their hard lives.

I'm still under progress on this plan, but I have a very good feeling that I can somehow make it till the deadline :) Thanks for your reading.

Breathing, eating and shitting.

I'm sorry for your loss.

I think about this often because I have an unfortunate diagnosis myself. The two things I will be remembered for are the things I perhaps take the least credit for myself.

  1. My son. I was a stay at home, homeschooling dad, and somehow he turned out really great. A kind and funny man who is a popular leader in his community. Eagle scout, an artist and designer, peer leader in his school and already working in his field but going on to graduate school. I might have helped that some, but he was always such a great kid. His success is his own thing. But people tell me I raised a good kid, so that's what I will be remembered for.

  2. I have been in Alcoholics Anonymous and Narcotics Anonymous for 35 years. In that time I have been of some help to thousands of people, and more direct help to hundreds. People stop me in restaurants or grocery stores and tell me that I changed their lives by something I said years ago. Again, it's not about me... I just pass on what someone said to me when I was new. But they will remember me for that. So be it.

Anything that I might like to be remembered for myself, like my few inventions, my stories, or my art, are just too pale next to those two things, which I don't really attribute to myself.

This is great. I'm glad you have impacted the world positively.

@baerdric, keep it up!

First of all I'm sorry for your loss, believe it or not Im going through the same exact thing. In all honesty I would remember you for this exact post if you unfortunately passed away because I've only been following you for a short period of time. Since yesterday to be exact & that was after I upvoted, followed you & resteemed your post. If I we're to pass away I think that people would remember me for being a caring & loving husband & father to my wife & son. They would also be able to genuinely say that I helped people in need every chance I had. Most importantly they would be able to atest that I had my soul right & was a faithful & humble servant to our creator. I pray for your heartache & comfort of your loved ones death - Blessings N Prosperity to you - @Cryptoblessings

@cryptoblessing, thanks so much. I appreciate your condolence and prayers.

It's good you'll be remembered for good thing.
Keep it up.

You're welcome and thank you for sharing. I lost a good friend to cancer a couple days ago. We're preparing for the funeral as we speak so this post really hit my heart. Sorry for writing a book

I'm sorry to hear about the passing on of your friend.

I wish you God's grace as you prepare for the funeral.

Thank you his family is having to rely on www.gofundme.com to pay his ridiculously high medical bills, burial expenses, & care for his young surviving son :(

I believe in reincarnation but honestly, I'm not sure what I would come back as. The way things are going perhaps it could be some time before I can come back again as anything significant.

At this time I am completely focused on trying to find the very best memories I can. Sort of thinking, "What would be really nice to take into the next incarnation, what are the best things I can offer from this life?"

If I'm sitting around as a star beaming light into the cosmos, perhaps figments of the good memories will be there like some instinctive thing.

My condolences on your recent loss of a relative. I lost a relative too about a month ago, I was feeling kind of sad and old but I'm okay now.

No need for me to worry. I will be forgotten.

All the people of the world know man is not immortal, yes very true that nobody even want to reminded about death. But all of us running after matter for our comfort and we forgot we will die one day. Very much nice post. Upvoted followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51