Denial of Truth and Good;...... Are We All Guilty???

in #life6 years ago (edited)


There have always been times in our lives when we absolutely know what is true or good, but we choose to do otherwise for some personal reasons. 

Although, both truth and good are relative terms. Something could be classified as good or truth based on each person's perception of life, personal beliefs, values and convictions. Is this really true? 

I don't think so...... Yeah, but this is just my own opinion; it doesn't make it right or wrong. I believe some things are glaringly good or bad. 

But some are relative. For instance, to some people, killing a thief is good. To me, it is bad. A lot of people believe their religion is the truth and they see others as people who are believing a lie. 

What am I trying to highlight? Here on Steem, we all preach how we want a better world. Some of us say we want an impartial system. We pretend to care about the less privileged ones, yet our activities here portray something different. With the little power (SP) we have at our disposal, we all follow the way of all mortals; that is, we do things based on affiliations. 

Yes, we are upvoting because the person is a friend, from the same country or sects. We preach fairness, but we aren't fair either. A shit post of someone showing you food he ate, without even stating the nutritional value is Upvoted to hundreds of dollars. Yet someone who stays up hours creating contents that are helpful to the community gets his post hidden in few hours. 

The world is a messed up place, with a messed up system, that ain't getting any better. 

No matter what we believe, there are things we know deep down are right, and there are those we know are wrong, but somehow, we choose to do things just the way we want. Am I exempted from this crime? I really can't say...... 

Somehow, I think we are all in this business of denial of truth and good. However, not all of us are in the forefront of it. 

Sometimes, go out of your way to do what is right and good in spite of your personal opinion. 


Thank You For Reading!

I Read and Appreciate All Comments!

If you find this post valuable,

Please Upvote, Resteem And Comment.


Sort:  

Somehow, I think we are all in this business of denial of truth and good. However, not all of us are in the forefront of it.

Word. I'm glad that you are being introspective. If all of us can think of our actions that way, the world will be a much greater place.

Keep it up dear!

Thank you for reading @nairadaddy.

You have said it all, if we all could think the way you are thinking and go a step further to make amends, no matter how negligible the world would certainly be a better place.

Thank you for reading @blessedman939.

Wow Ogo. You vented there. And the truth just had to be told. Thank you for hitting that nail on the head. There is no fairness anywhere, least of all, on steemit

Very pathetic.

100% true

A shit post of someone showing you food he ate, without even stating the nutritional value is Upvoted to hundreds of dollars.

Some already have d circle of people they vote for. I think if some people here can just create a little space for those making quality post, this platform is gonna be a better place. I like this @ogoowinner. You said it all.

@dhavey

Nothing is going to change. They'd rather unfollow someone who makes a post like this than change the pattern.

Hmm! That sounds deep nothing is going to change

We preach fairness, but we aren't fair either.

friends intend to upvotes friends that is just our natural instance. some even sell their votes. for the world to become a fair place is almost impossible but very much possible. There is some good-hearted people like @papa-pepper upvoted and commented on my post when i just have 16 reputation and it makes me feel amazing. Thank you for another wonderful post @ogoowinner.

@papa-pepper is just too exceptional here. God bless his heart.

Yeah and you as well too @ogoowinner!! You have been very supportive to newbies as well as Nigerians. "God bless you."

We need to use a common measure just for us to agree on what good for our lives is and that is the word of God from the bible. @ogoowinner

The totality of this post reflects on what I did 9 or 10months ago. The mum of my cousin offended me. My blood sis visited and took what belonged to me Without my consent and I ignored it but when my cousin took that same thing, I went Rogue on him. Lol.

Well you are right regarding this;

shit post of someone showing you food he ate, without even stating the nutritional value is Upvoted to hundreds of dollars. Yet someone who stays up hours creating contents that are helpful to the community gets his post hidden in few hours..

Only few see the need to do this.
As a petty minnow, even if I don't have good Sp.
If I see someone comments well, or chat friendly on whatsapp, celebrating birthdays, I do instant giveaway to cheer them up. I'm not saying this to praise myself, I just don't want to deny the good in those moment.

Well said @ogoowinner

Yeah, you're doing well here already.

what a world we are in! You just nailed it so hard in the right place and at the right time. I really wished more people can read this post and correct their wrong doings. Lets all join hands and make the world a better place for everyone. Thanks for this great post @ogoowinner

Lol! More visibility might not really change anything. People just do what they want without giving a shit about what is right.

We are guilty of this. We call it favoritism and choice, but we don't look how our choices in life has affected others but we choose one cos our conscience permits us. I am guilty but not in the forefront cos I still give people my $0.002

Thank you for your comment here @yungchief.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82