You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My experiences, thoughts and tips of going to the supermarket while having a vision of 5%

in #life8 years ago

Interesting, especially about the troubles that come with asking for help. Do you find that you're harder on yourself than anyone else is? That's no uncommon. People are more helpful than we sometimes give them credit for. :)

Sort:  

That's a good question! I do indeed believe that I can sometimes be to hard on myself. And you don't have to be visually impaired (or have any oher disability) to ask for help. I think it is about the feeling you have by not being able to do it yourself and by telling others about your impairment. So it makes you (partially) dependent of others and when asking for help in that case I want the other person to know that it is because of that reason and not becaue they might think I am lazy or perhaps not so bright.
For example, I sometimes need help getting on the right train. In order to make sure that it is the right one, I ask a bystender what the destinatio is. Meanwhile I am standing 2 meters away from the board that has the destination on it. So when I do'nt explain why I ask for help, I sometime think (and actually notice) that people find it weird that I am asking that. But it is up to me to learn that it is all okay and that it should not matter what others might think. As long as I can stand up for myself. But that is someting that has to be learned over time and cannot be done in 1 day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44