My experiences, thoughts and tips of going to the supermarket while having a vision of 5%

in #life8 years ago

So, a while ago I wrote my introduction blog in which you can read something about my hobby (pole dancing), my visual impairment and my education (Healthpsychology and Technology). You can read it here to know a bit more about my background If you like. But in short, I am 24 years old and I have a hereditary eye-condition called Stargardt’s Disease. This causes my central vision to fade away. It started when I was about 10 years old and till the time I was officially diagnosed (at age 14) my vision dropped to 5% (after that it stagnated so I won’t be fully blindJ).   


When I was 20 I move to ‘the city’ because I was ready to live on my own, well, I went on living in a house with 4 other students. I did this to be more independent with regard to my mobility. Not that I was lazy but to every place I needed to be, I had to bicycle at least 30 minutes (yes, I’m Dutch). And yes, I am still able to ride a bicycle, luckily, but just not in places I am not familiar with. So going to school, my internship, pole dancing class and my boyfriend became a bit too much with the traveling time. By moving to the city this gave me more freedom and piece.   

People who go live on their own may be a bit scared for things.. I don’t know. But I felt great to move out! I had it great at home with my lovely family but I’ve noticed that it was just time to be on my own. There was only one thing I was afraid of in the context of taking care for myself... going to the supermarket by myself haha. Although, over the years I became very independent with regard to my visual impairment, there are still some things in life that are not easy or fun (and I am sure that during different life phases I will encounter more of those things but I will just have to learn to deal with that).    

So what is so scary about going to the supermarket?
Well, I can’t read most of the packages or price tags if I can even find the product that I am looking for. So most of what I buy is based on my cognition of previous times I’ve bought it. For example, when I lived at home, I went to the local store a lot with my mother so I knew what certain products looked like, what they cost and where they are located in that particular store. But that also means that what I know (my cognition) largely depend of what my mother decided to buy. So, when going grocery shopping by myself (in a different store) that means that I have to learn where the products are located in order for me to find them. I cannot just look into an aisle but I have to walk through every single one of them. Haha, well, it keeps me moving. So after I found what I was looking for, I can probably choose from several brands and sizes (with different prices). After a while I know exactly what to get for what prices. I’ve learn this by just buying different products to try it out, or by remembering what the cheaper brands look like (a logo or something).   

Asking for help
Then there is that moment where I really need help. I don’t like asking for help because I feel like I have to explain myself to others why I need help or else I feel like they think I am stupid. For example, when I want a certain type of apple but I can’t find it because there are like 5 different kinds that are all red and yellow colored. At the moment I ask for help I feel insecure because why would a grown-up woman (without glasses on) need help to pick out the right type of apple if she is standing right in front of them? This is one of my not helpful thoughts that I sometimes have when I want to pick out fruits. But let me tell you this, I will not let my visual impairment and the anxiety that comes with it, stand in the way of getting the fruit I like! If you read this, you might think.. Why is she making such a big deal of buying an apple? Well, this did not happened once, this happens daily with other things as well so it can be very confronting sometimes. Therefore, learning how to deal with your disability and asking for help is very important. Being visually impaired and wanting to be independent can bring a lot of stress, insecurity, feelings of dependence and anxiety with it and that is not very healthy. What I want to say is that you should not let your disability stand in the way of doing what you want, or getting what you want. If it’s about your life goals or buying an apple, it doesn’t matter, just go for it and do not be ashamed!   

I can tell you a lot more of experiences like this and what goes on in my head but that would make this blog maybe a bit too long.    

Are you visually impaired yourself? Or do you know others who face similar challenges? Than I have some tips for you based on my own experiences:
1. When asking for help, smile and be honest why you need it and be clear of what exactly you need. You don’t have to be ashamed of asking for help. People might understand it or they might not but you can’t blame them because not everyone is familiar with terms as visual impairment (they usually think or ask why you don’t wear glasses..). Besides, doing something nice for another person can give a good feeling so by asking for help, you give the other person a chance to do something nice! 

2. You can take photos of old packages/labels that you need and compare it with the ones in the store to make sure you buy what you were used to. Instead of forgetting what exactly you had at home and needing to read the product label in the store. 

3. When you are not able to read the price tag, you can make a photo of it. Than you can zoom in at the picture to see it. 

4. Last of all, don’t let you insecurity or anxiety stand in the way of what you need or want. Think to yourself… Is it really more important to me what a stranger (whom I may never see again) might think of me when asking for help? Or is it more important to me that I get what I need/want because I am independent and I make my own decisions? After thinking this, it gives me the boost to just go ask for help haha. And after a few times, it will get easier, trust me!   

Thank you for your time! I hope I you've enjoyed reading this.

Sort:  

Interesting, especially about the troubles that come with asking for help. Do you find that you're harder on yourself than anyone else is? That's no uncommon. People are more helpful than we sometimes give them credit for. :)

That's a good question! I do indeed believe that I can sometimes be to hard on myself. And you don't have to be visually impaired (or have any oher disability) to ask for help. I think it is about the feeling you have by not being able to do it yourself and by telling others about your impairment. So it makes you (partially) dependent of others and when asking for help in that case I want the other person to know that it is because of that reason and not becaue they might think I am lazy or perhaps not so bright.
For example, I sometimes need help getting on the right train. In order to make sure that it is the right one, I ask a bystender what the destinatio is. Meanwhile I am standing 2 meters away from the board that has the destination on it. So when I do'nt explain why I ask for help, I sometime think (and actually notice) that people find it weird that I am asking that. But it is up to me to learn that it is all okay and that it should not matter what others might think. As long as I can stand up for myself. But that is someting that has to be learned over time and cannot be done in 1 day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44