Dear Diary : All about Discipline, Exercise and Being A Sleeping Beauty

in #life7 years ago

Living With Him

I had the fortunate experience of being with my better half who has good habits, routine life and discipline. He is disciplined to the extent that he even controls his average sleeping time each day. Who does that? He does!

He advocates good health and he exercises regularly. He is often in the gym for an hour or more each day. If you know him on face value, you will marvel at him and shower him with praises for leading such a disciplined life. That is the person he potrays himself and credit to him he leads that life.

Our Fight

Me on the other hand is a sloth. I value my sleep and I consider myself a new age Sleeping Beauty (I don’t mean to praise myself). So the clash of personality happened. I can’t live up to his expectation on two habits that he advocates:-


Sleeping early and waking up early
Exercise regularly and consistently

Well, I know it sounds pretty ridiculous and petty. But this is when it gets nasty, the finger pointing starts. We look for faults in each other. Yes, the maturity and the wisdom, I agree but I guess we need to understand each other more.

DSC09213.JPG

My Argument

He is extremely judgmental. Human do have flaws and my flaw is that I am less disciplined. I love to sleep and I exercise little. He is a too rigid, he sets standards and he expects me to meet his standard. This is not a standard operating procedure with ISO standards to achieve. I refuse to comply.

His Argument

Notimetospace sleeps too much, she procrastinates and she is lazy. She can’t adapt to change even if the change is good for her. She has many excuses that she calls her own ‘reason’.

“早睡早起身体好”

The above translates to “Sleeping early and waking up early is good for your body”. According to him successful people adopt this habit. They are super awesome and ultra productive when they are awake and is able to immediately shut down and call it a day after completing their tasks. This is the mantra he lives by.

Morning’s Cute Messages

He still does romantic things like sending me early good morning messages everyday. It started off romantic and somehow it got lost in translation and today these messages come in this form.


“Honestly, I can’t think of anyone sleeping more than 8 hours apart from you.”
“I have my bar pretty high when it comes to living habits, because it speaks a lot about a person.”
“You’re not nocturnal, you are just lazy”

Yeah, I know, I feel the it too ‘OUCH’!

DSC09152.JPG

Me Lazy?

Tell me, who wouldn’t want a little extra hours of sleep. I do! I still complete the task I set out to complete for the day. I find it hard to even imagine myself not completing the things I set for myself. I spend my time reading, planning, writing, taking naps and challenging myself to a game of Candy Crush. Who say I am not productive?

He is not happy because he considers my productivity level as low and exercising is not in my to do list. Now, he has labelled me as lazy and not responsible for my own health.

“我有我精彩的,你有你规律的”

Translated it means:
“I have my own wonderful life, you have your own disciplined life”

His lifestyle is pretty simple and straightforwad but difficult to maintain. Good for him that he is a very persistent guy. Makes me wonder if he is made of processing chips and circuit boards. I prefer to do things that keeps me happy and I don’t maintain a consistent lifestyle. For instance I love writing my diary, which you could have guessed by now, the way I am writing this is just like writing my personal diary. Yes, I admit, I am a happy but lazy sloth!

“只是要你做从小学听到大学的东西,早睡早起身体好,好像要你死那样”

Translated means “I only want you to adopt something that you have always been advised since young, sleep and wake up early everyday, why does it feels as though I am asking you to kill yourself in doing that”

If waking up and sleeping early is the only reason to live for him, I think I will have a hard time figuring out the purpose of living. If I do that what do I get? An overly domineering husband for life or do I have to live my life being a submissive person? I rather let my job discipline me in waking me up than to do it voluntarily. Of if I am super excited and I automatically wakes up.

DSC09228.JPG

Conclusion

I know it is petty to argue for reasons such as this. It shows that high expectations may lead to deep disappointment. I understand that he tries to cultivate a good and healthy lifestyle and do give very valid reasons to compel me to live by.
It is pretty disappointing that this relationship isn’t strong enough so much so that this difference bring out so much ugliness in our exchange of words. I again to be fair to him, if he compromise to my way of life, I guess I would still be procrastinating. I definitely wouldn’t want my children to live with the current lifestyle that I lead. Maybe I am just not up to his standards.

Sort:  

Slowly you guys will start to learn to adapt to each other...it takes time.

tough, he is very tough with his stand . But hope it'll be well soon (yes, i said soon)

U will be alright. Hang in there.

I say find a new boyfriend that sleeps like you do. And most importantly he plays the guitar.

Music and sleep, good combo !

Hi @notimetospace let me advice u like an older brother would. Sometimes conflict happens because we have different lifestyle. He isn't wrong and neither are u wrong. Its just what you want in life. Cheer up. 😊

It's obvious he wants perfect lifestyle and I just want sleep. Thank you so much for the comment !

Congratulations @notimetospace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Que sera sera

Cant avoid fights eh, let it be.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @notimetospace to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Oh wow I don't like that guy

You never will... :/

Maybe he will change.

I wish he could too.

Dont give up

Congratulations @notimetospace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51