You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOT-BACK-TO-SCHOOL TODAY ... and how School is Developmentally-Inappropriate for my Right-Brained Child

in #life8 years ago

I see your point. I should have been more clear (comments are limited). I guess I used a "buzz-word". By "no schooling" I meant turning them over to nature without any parental supervision e.g. "Lord of the Flies" or something. I would just distinguish the point that every parent, even while "unschooling", is teaching. Manners, being good, chores etc. are all education and instruction and I lumped that in with "school" and that is definitely different than formal school.

You are right. He did differentiate "formal" education or school. I think, if I remember correctly, that he had evidence that showed children who waited until 10-12 could make up all the years of k-5/ k-6 in a very short time. Maybe two to six months. I think that is because when kids hang around their parents all the time, they just learn and they are confident in their position and love from their family.

Sort:  

Yes. Unschooling is not unparenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64