Road To Improvement - New You Day 1 - Part 1 of 2

in #life6 years ago

32db05e9a7d8ce64adafd75ec0590dc6.jpg

The road to self improvement seems to be a continuous, mystical act in or lives. It’s almost as if we’re never exactly sure if we’re doing the right thing, at the right time, but we keep going in hopes that we guide ourselves in the right direction. And then, net thing we know, we’re a completely different person from who we were last month, last year… almost unidentifiable. Who was I as an individual? Why did I say those things? Why did I hang out with those people? These questions seem to appear in my head as I look through old photographs, old conversations, and all of which is reminiscent that comes my way. I suppose it boils down to slowly developed, small increments - our precious, overlooked hours, and the gradual evolution of self.

download.jpg

One of my main goals in life is to become the best woman I can be. I know for certain that I have a very long way to go, but I try to carry my day-to-day life as a genuine character - I’m not certain. Whatever it is, I just want to make my life and other people’s lives as light as possible, whether they require it or not.

I often say that if you aren’t focusing on self development, you are just sitting on the sidelines of life.

So the question becomes, “Are you happy with your life?” Regardless of what your answer is, you have the power to make your life better than it is today. The power to do so lies within each of us. The desire to make a mark, to be noticed, to become someone, is ingrained in each of us.
All we need is a little push.
Because of this, I have decided to put together a 2 part article based on Dr. Kevin Leman’s book, Have A New You By Friday.
(please note: the following paragraphs are taken directly from Dr. Leman’s book, and are not my words or work. I have broken down the paragraphs to what I thought was relative to this article.)

images.png

Day 1
Just who do you think you are?

What’s your REAL personality, and how did you get to be that way? And why settle for less, when you can be so much more?

We spend our lives standing at closed doors, not risking knocking, because we fear what might happen if we really try. We get stuck in a rut because we fear hearing the word “no” and having a door slammed in our face.

Lies you tell yourself:

  • I can’t do it, so I might as well not try.
  • I can’t do it right, so I might as well not try.
  • So-and-so can do it better, so I might as well not try.

We don’t have to be a slave to the worst tendencies of our personalities.

Who’s important to you?
What 3 or 4 people in your life have influenced you the most? What role have they played in your life, and describe their personality traits?

Person #1
Role in your life:
Personality traits:

Person #2
Role in your life:
Personality traits:

Who believes in you? What person in your life has played - or could play - the role of a person who motivates you?

Ask yourself:

  • Am I stuck in a rut? If so, what ones?
  • Do I fear change? Fear success? Fear becoming someone different, even though I long to be different? Why?

images.jpg

I know that this sounds harsh, but don’t give in to your old patterns of failure. Work harder and continue educating yourself. Most likely you’ve tried things along the way to become a new you. You’ve tried . . . and failed.

After all, being in a rut is sometimes a lot more comfortable. To make any change, you have to decide you want to make that change and be willing to do the work it requires to get there.

Stay tuned for my next post - part 2 of 2. Where we discuss personalities and why we are the way we are and do the things that we do. Once we understand the nature of our personality, then we can begin our growing process!

Lots of love,
Nooreen.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nooreen! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nooreen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50