Sort:  

80 views in the article screen shot, 88 views in this screenshot, 96 views as of this writing.

I hope you don't mind me asking here, but should I also "like" other web pages I read so that I might get "followers" on that platform? It seems the answer should be yes, but I'm too new to it to be sure.

I probably had about 2000 likes on the account I'm using before I ever started adding my own work to it, I didn't earn a follower the entire time. It won't hurt to make your account more appealing. I didn't get any followers until I started liking my own work though. I think people are discovering the fact they are connecting with the actual author instead of just liking a corporate style or mass media websites latest hit. I don't really know what to tell you. All I'm doing is testing the waters. I've only been at this for a couple of months. Before this I was a media consumer. I'm learning as I go about what it's like to be on the other side.

Well, I'll experiment too. I don't even know that we need followers. If enough of our pages are out there and enough random clicks bring readers to us, that's good enough for me.

The article that ties in with this screenshot is now up to 126 views. I'm not sure having followers helps, but I know once you get one, they have a better chance of seeing your future contributions and in turn possibly "liking" it.

It involves a lot of randomness indeed. These hits don't necessarily mean someone is reading it either. They might just click to the next page. Knowing this, I'm developing a certain format that draws people in. In time I'll have this down to an art form... and the more people I attract in the mean time, the better it is for me down the road if I intend to make some decent money doing this. I've written about it before, vaguely. Some people know their target audience, some create it.

I'm thinking tags are very very important to the process. And like you say below, opening lines.

Apparently, one must use the stumble button and like other content along the way otherwise the system assumes you're a spammer. @kiwideb just showed me an issue report that contained this solution. That's why my recent additions were not receiving hits. They want a balance of additions and regular usage. Keep this in mind.

Oh! Good idea on their part. I better do some stumbling...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67