You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would you like to trade stories about the dumbest argument you have ever had? I'll go first.

in #life8 years ago

Dumbest argument. Former coworker used to like to text and drive. Even worse, he'd be driving, suddenly start laughing, loud. I was then presented the latest meme or cat video from facebook. A few times I made the mistake of asking this guy to kindly put the phone down and drive.

You're swerving all over the road.
"No I'm not swerving all over the road!"
You just ran a red light.
"NO! I did not just run a red light!"
You nearly hit that car.
"What car?!?!"
You're going to get someone killed.
"Do YOU want to drive!"

I wasn't really arguing, I just got yelled at, a lot. Fun times.

Sort:  

Zoinks! That's terrible. Glad you made it out alive. I was had to drive with a boss I could not stand. He drove with his knees while drinking a coffee I one hand and his phone in the other. But only briefly. I think you have that one beat hands down.

That guy took his strange sense of ignorance quite seriously. I found out he later tried the same behavior with a cop.

You failed to signal back there.
"No! I signaled!"
Is that alcohol on your breathe?
"No! I don't drink!"
Step out please.
"No!"

He got out of jail the next day and told me all about how the cop was harassing him. He showed me his tickets and how he blew over the limit. He insisted he had not been drinking and thought he could fight the tickets. He even went so far as saying they had no right to impound his vehicle.

I guess the moral of story. I think the "dumb arguments" often come equipped with a certain type of person. Not always. But I do know a good candidate for a science experiment.

That guy sounds nuts! Maybe I should change the title to "who is the craziest person you have ever met?"... although that would mean I would have to admit to being the crazy one in my story.

No, your title is fine. It was a good read and I thank you for sharing. Life happens, people argue. I'm usually the annoyingly calm person in an argument. This behavior angers people further, no fault of mine though. Any time I read about these sort of arguments that escalate into chaos... I'm always left thinking about the same person. I hope you never have to meet this person I speak of. He's an okay guy, somewhat of a friend... but don't bother arguing with him. You'll lose by default, in his mind.

"You'll lose by default, in his mind."
I hear that. That is one of the most frustrating for sure. Can't reason with that... or even have any fun in a friendly argument.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59