You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whatever: If This Hardfork Fucks Me Over As A Content Producer...

in #life5 years ago

That's just the crypto world. Arts and entertainment is bigger business. More money. Probably a good time to start looking at those billions instead of what the crypto crowd can offer. I've been saying that though for a long time. Hate repeating myself.

The crap on the chain only exists because of the people who sell the votes. If you're ignored for posting crap for six months, you'll probably either improve, or leave. Paid votes place the low quality performers above the high quality performers. Anyone can push a button and buy a vote. That was designed to cater to those with no talent right from the start, which is why it was marketed to those who were struggling and unwillingly to recognize the fact their target audience wasn't interested or the market for their offering was too small. You can place your stuff as high as you want on the trending page or hot list but if you market didn't exist in the first place or if your stuff didn't appeal to anyone before, buying votes won't change a goddamn thing. That's the part they don't tell the amateurs who would first buy the salespitch, then the vote. All they did was offer a miracle diet pill and people expected to lose weight without working out. They're loss, vote sellers gain. That's life.

50/50 is fine. Palnet is doing a fine job of proving that. One of my recent posts earned more USD value in Palcoin than STEEM. That's only because more were willing to vote, so I received more votes, took a smaller percentage, but earned more, because of more votes. A very simple concept. If more people were interested in curating on steemit, that post would have done better on steemit.

curate stuff to fill up boredom.

Get paid to be entertained. Genius.

Sort:  

The crap on the chain only exists because of the people who sell the votes. If you're ignored for posting crap for six months, you'll probably either improve, or leave.

Yup. 6 months though, ain't nobody got time for that... except you, and a few handfuls of folks I've tried to engage with frequently.

One of my recent posts earned more USD value in Palcoin than STEEM. That's only because more were willing to vote, so I received more votes, took a smaller percentage, but earned more, because of more votes.

Glad to hear this simple concept is showing early results.

And it is still early. And I should reword that. More votes with power. We spoke about that a long time ago. What would it be like if all those powerful votes were back on the scene and actually voting. It would be better, for everyone, was the basic conclusion. Right again!

I understood and have passed this information around today. It's big news, and very encouraging for authors and palnet.io

Surely some will pull stake from the bots (taraz mentioned doing so recently) to see how 50/50 compares. Knocking trash down a few notches in tandem to this, and there is hope at least.

All our content is crap. Theres basically 3-4 people on Steem ( And im being generous) that have content that is remotely competitive with what is out there.

Tried to engage, except you, etc.

Its time to stop with this idea that community respected individuals have good content because the only metric is:

How good is it in the global market? Do you have the potential to be great?

I dont give a damn if a Jimbo can beat Greg in a fight down by the pub. Can he beat Tyson Fury?

Can he beat "the man"? Is the potential there? We can pat each other on the back and say this guy and that guy is cool but is he/she really?

Its time to make our own pewdipiepies. I think Nonames is great. I think youre great. I think Taraz is great. I think i can write a compelling post.... but in the great scheme of things all that content is basically worthless and cannot compete.
Dont get me wrong. I respect every one of you.... but can you go out and stand in front of me, look me in the eye and say:

Im a great one.

No. Youre thinking in Steem terms. And thinking in Steem terms is what makes us stagnate.

We need to create greats and im not seeing anyone focusing on that.

Bookmark this comment, save it, copy paste it, print it, mail it to yourself because thats the truth.

Ill trend something tomorrow or in a few days. Use the bots to push it to top trending even though i completely switched to your opinion on bots (if you remember our discussions months ago). People can be wrong and wer all people.

A content quality metric in my opinion. A harsh metric.

Im a guy thats extremely critical of myself. Shit, i could have been a NCAA caliber player if i moved to US, maybe even made the NBA, i made the top European defensive player at the time look silly at 18 years old. If i wasnt a lazy fuck who knows where i might have ended up.
Thats when you learn your place and where your place is in life. call dr.phil LOL

My content is crap, all of our content is crap. But some isnt. Youre a blogger and you might have done well till now... But can you be great????
Can you be a great influencer, can you be someone people can admire on the global scale.

Months ago i told you that you should start a youtube page (at least a vlog on Dtube).... One step from writing blogs is making vlogs.
I know you wont listen but standing in place wont get you much.

Youll end up like me. Like the guy that could have been ....

Dramatizing a bit but yeah. :D

I played hockey. If you could buy the championship, would it be worth playing the season? Go ahead and buy your fake "trending" status. All it does is defeat the purpose of needing to do well and pushing to do better.

I know you think your plans for my life are better than the plans I have for my life. The issue I have with that is: You don't know what my plans are.

Not my point. And the trending thing wasnt about buying a place somewhere. Its about raising the point of how we fucked ourselves with self-gratification.
Pointing out our opinions of being deserving of votes was wrong.

I like you but you need to place your content in the grand scheme of things. Thats the real metric. You, and all of us are focused so much as to what our value is in terms of steem when we are talking about content..... I think thats wrong.

Whats your worth on the global scale? What is your potential? Can you be great? Do you have potential.

I think people need a cold shower and we need to start focusing on supporting those that can be great. Dlive bought Pewdipie but we can make one.

You, and all of us are focused so much as to what our value is in terms of steem when we are talking about content

Speak for yourself, not me. I've produced a massive catalog of artwork. Do you think I did that just for a few eyes on day one, and only for STEEM? It seems like you can't see my potential, or think I want to only be here, now, doing only this.

I wrote long ago about how wise it would be to stop looking to the outside and start looking at the talent we have here. What would Youtube be today if those first people, who are now famous, but were once virtual nobodies, what would youtube be if they kicked those people to the curb.

I like you too, but you're kind of annoying some days, and I don't say that just to be a prick.

We both write extremely opinionated comments so annoyance is bound to happen.
I never find annoying people that never step out of bounds and never say anything worth interacting with.
But thats no fun is it?

Maybe i am underestimating you, but im someone that thinks that blogging is internet 1.0 and that the potential of blogging in the grand scheme of things is very low.

Posted using Partiko Android

We both write extremely opinionated comments so annoyance is bound to happen.
I never find annoying people that never step out of bounds and never say anything worth interacting with.
But thats no fun is it?

Fair point and I wasn't taking a shot at you; just being opinionated LOL!

So, there's an old form of blogging that fits with the old internet, then a new form that coincides with the new internet. I guess it's up to the people of the time to take advantage of the changes. That old blogging evolved into Facebook status messages. Now the writer needs an authentic personalty that's a touch larger than life, but not too much, and some talent, but not the old way of writing where everything is perfect.

What's dying are traditional web articles surrounded by ads. Just those words on the screen used as filler, often rehashed forms of common sense. Have you ever noticed how poorly those type of writers and that style does here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64