Ironically Had Another Earthquake While Talking About Earthquake Relief

in #life6 years ago

ca4acdbf-b1f1-4b39-984b-3915e9ea6d21.jpeg


It's like the earthquake in Lombok was mocking us. Some girls and I are organizing a fundraiser event to help out with all of the damage from the earthquakes in Lombok.

Ironically, during our planning session today, there was another quake. Was it trying to prove to us that our efforts are useless? Mocking earthquake. It should be called a mockquake.

Aftershocks are normal, I think.

But then, just another 40 minutes ago, there was one that's definitely not an aftershock. Another 6.9 earthquake in Lombok and we felt it strong in Bali again, just like the one a couple of weeks ago that was a 6.9.

The only ones that kind of scare me over here are the 6.9s. I'm more worried about the people over there. They're not getting a break and I keep meeting people who get the chance to evacuate and they are coming over here and hearing their stories is crazy intense.

My neighbors who have been here in Bali for a month were there during the last one. Since they're foreigners, they had to pay to get off the island after waiting on the beach for 12 hours. Thousands of people were just crammed on the beach waiting to leave.

They said basically whoever was the fastest of the locals got the boat, and people were just jumping on. The hotel they were in is completely destroyed. They said there was only one wall left standing and the rest was on the ground.

The lights went out and people were just running around screaming, some of them with pieces of broken glass in their legs. They saw dead bodies on the beach while they were waiting to leave. My neighbors are grown men but they said they were crying because they saw too much.

My heart is breaking for them all. Thousands are just camping on the beach now and running out of food. No one has jobs anymore because so many buildings are destroyed.

So here's a nice picture of the beach in Da Nang, where no one is worried about tsunamis or the earth rebelling against them. The beach relaxes me, so it's nice to look at the calm in this picture and end on a good note.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I was living in Japan when they had the big 9.1 earthquake and tsunami. The earthquake was so strong that it was difficult standing up as the ground shook.

You are most likely experiencing aftershocks and they can be quite strong. Below is a visualization of some of the nearly 5,000 aftershocks that we experienced and you can see some were well over 6 on the scale.

Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 9.16.50 AM.png

whoa whoa whoa that's so crazy! You must have all kinds of crazy stories from that! I can't imagine that you were even able to stand at all! Because even the 7.0 one was difficult for standing and I wasn't even next to the epicenter.

I do. I plan to write a post about it soon and share some of the photos I took. Keep a look out for it :)

I woke up to another earthquake alert - hopefully Lombok gets a break soon!

I know, they totally need it!!!

Sounds like a horror scene and I'm sure it was. Now it just got worse...

So bad for them. Well the world is just going crazy everywhere nowadays. Bali is earthquakes and back home it's fire

So far East Bali is the only place with the majority of damage and I'm on the west. And even Bali's damage is nothing compared to Lombok. I think I read today that 400,000 people are sleeping outside over there now. That's crazy. But I mostly feel safe over here as long as the epicenter stays away

Amazing photography

I hope everything went well and that they are all safe.
Bali is very beautiful.

Hug @nomadicsoul

Thank you!!! Lombok people are definitely having a rough time! In Bali we're mostly okay, except for some on the east coast I guess. I agree...everything is beautiful! The people, the rice fields...everything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84