The reason why one of my so called "good blog " got unnoticed : Understanding the power of the first tag in streemit

in #life7 years ago

Hi everyone,
So here i am back with another post, this time around i have decided to give "steemit noobs" like me, some peice of advice.
So i started off on steemit with a post of mine in which i introduced myself and the work i do. I was expecting it to give me  a dull response as i am a newbie or a noob to this whole "site-frastructure of a crypto based social network". To my surprise i got a really nice response on that post and people started liking it as well.The comments were nice and made me happy.
It was diwali the next day and i was super happy to create nice,Unique and EXCLUSIVE content for the steemit family.
I took my phone out and started capturing everything i could.
Wrote a nice and long blog and did the worst thing that every human being does but is ashamed to accept i.e having an expectation.
I was confident that the first post itself got 50 views in the first hour itself, this will surpass that for sure "After all i have written my story in such a nice way, people are going to love it for sure"

But it surprised me that very less people have seen that post till now itself . The link to that post is :https://steemit.com/india/@nitishmatta/the-a-to-z-of-one-of-the-biggest-d-diwali-the-hindu-festival-as-seen-from-the-eyes-of-a-normal-guy-living-in-india
Now let's analyze what happened here, shall we? I was told by my steemit guru, whom i call "boss" in my real life as well : @macchiata that the first tag plays a vital role in the decision of the category that my post belongs. So now i published the post with the first tag "india" and since there are quite less indians on steemit, my post got less viewed and less liked as well. So the main takeaway from this Post is to research about the tags before clicking that post button and always make sure that the first tag has a wider audience, For example: if i had used "photography" in the main tag, the post would have been somewhat better in the overall retention than it is now. Have a look at the original post itself and let me know how was the content there. Also if you like the way i express, hit that follow button to show your support

Sort:  

Yip correct tag one hits ..or your post dies .

Get Upvoted !!! VaerOwhale !
https://steemit.com/life/@vaerospace/get-upvoted-for-0-001-sbd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61388.83
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49