Happy DIwali ,The hindu festival of lights [As seen from the eyes of a normal guy living in india]

in #india7 years ago (edited)

Happy Diwali steemians


If you read my introduction blog yesterday and you came here to read the next story, i am really thankful to you for supporting a new steemit member like me.

Today's story as the title suggests, is about Diwali: one of the very prominent and big festivals celebrated in mainly the Hindu community.

Diwali is also known as the festival of lights. Now you must be having a question that why is it so? well, i will answer everything in just a bit in the form of videos and photos that I shot today exclusively for the steemit community.

These photos and some of the videos are of me, going to the temple with my mother for Diwali diya [a small pot made out of clay which is used to illuminate the dark with the use of some oil and cotton swab] lighting in front of god and then heading towards the bigger temple at our local area topoo seek blessings continued with rest of the awesome activities that you will see in the form of videos and photos but before that let us all have a look at why Diwali is celebrated.

Diwali or the festival of lights was first celebrated when one of our gods, lord rama came back after the exile of 14 years, after successfully rescuing his wife goddess site from the evil Ravana of lanka[now Sri lanka]. once lord Rama, goddess site and lord Rama's younger brother Laxman came back to Ayodhya(the birth place of lord Rama), the whole city of Ayodhya was lit up and since then the concept of Diwali has originated.

Now coming back to 19th October 2017 :D

It was almost 6 pm in the evening and I was all set to go for shopping. I had to buy some firecrackers coz its Diwali.

At 6:40 me along with my mother went to the nearby small temple to light the Diya and seek blessings, I had to stay outside the temple because of this ritual being mainly done by the ladies of the house, I was taking care of my mother's sandals as wearing sandals inside a temple is not allowed, the whole atmosphere seems festive as you can see. Girls and women are dressed up like queens and princesses. lined up to seek blessings from elders and the almighty.

I waited for a while and soon my mother came back after lighting the Diya.
She told me that we had to go to the bigger temple as well so we went there as well.
It took us 5-10 more minutes to seek blessings in the bigger temple and this time I also went inside.

After we came back, we headed towards the big ground with dust and sand filling our nostrils and making us sneeze. we were finally here, it was the firecracker market in a big open area in Mathura city. we headed towards finding a few light centric firecrackers and not those bombs which produce bad and unpleasant sound. While heading towards the cracker market, we saw some vendors selling lights and other awesome stuff related to diwali.

we told the shopkeeper to give us some phooljhadi(stick that lits up and becomes like a torch), some anaar ( a fire cracker which gives sparkles in the upward direction) and some chakri(a fire cracker that spins on the ground) we avoided the firecrackers like rocket etc as our motive was to just have the vibe of the festival.


It was all sorted, after buying some crackers, we were heading home for the pooja(a ritual where all the family members chant some Hindu mantras ) and seek to bless from god, as you can see from the video below, everyone is devoted towards being calm and composed towards the moment.


The pooja was done, after having some sweets bought from the best local sweet shop brijwasi sweet shop, Mathura India.

It was time to finally burst some nice crackers.I was excited to finally burn them but i was engrossed for half an hour in a call with three of my school friends, after the call was done, my mother, me and my brother was on our terrace because my father doesn't like crackers and my grandparents are not in the physical condition to climb the stairs, so we stared lighting up the candle and then we moved on towards the fire crackers. i have managed to get some slow-mo shots of me with phooljhadis and anaars.



people had decorated their homes very beautifully and it was a delight to see everything

To our surprise two of our old friends were also in town and they came by to see us, we invited them to the terrace and they joined along with us in the firework session. soon after the crackers were over, everyone was exhausted. My friends went back to their home and after having dinner and working, i started converting this moment of my life into a story.


I also managed to click some pictures that i would like to show you guys.IMG_20171019_193607.jpg

IMG_20171019_213452.jpg

IMG_20141024_183940.jpg

Hope you guys liked today's blog as well. kindly follow me for more such raw and un edited opinions, also to see much more steemit exclusive content as well.

Sort:  

It's not to late to wish you Happy Diwali @nitishmatta. Love from Borneo..:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51