Preparing 'Healthy' Food in School; No, it Doesn't Involve Meat, Dairy and Eggs.

in #life6 years ago

20180514_163125.jpg

I'll eat my own face if the instructors of this course had any nutritional training.

I was biting my tongue this afternoon. I think I need a new one.

I attended a cooking workshop as part of my professional learning today. The purpose is to make healthy foods more normal for children forming a part of a healthy life. When children are involved in the growing and preparation of their food, they are more likely to eat it. This, I completely agree with.

Ignorance with respect to the science, is holding healthful lives away from children who are being taught that eating animal products is part of a healthy diet.

There is more to unhealthy foods than processed food and confectionery.

But this was what was being echoed throughout the training. Sugar and "processed food". While I hate to focus on a deficit model of nutrition (what you can't eat), we need to get a few things straight;

  • Meat is at least probably carcinogenic.
  • Dairy strips calcium from the body.
  • Eggs contain a huge wad of cholesterol which is a contributor to heart disease.
  • Eating animal products put the body into a state of increased inflammation and decreased immune function.

Although highly simplified, these are scientific facts as we currently understand them. This program promoted eating ham on just about everything, included melted cheese (and more ham) on mini pizzas and praised mixing yoghurt with muesli as a treat.

Thank the flying spaghetti monster for rice paper rolls!

Thankfully, the importance of fruits and vegetables wasn't lost on the instructors. It's just a gigantic shame that what greens were added to the food were fighting the uphill battle to ward off the damage of the animal products being consumed. D'oh!

What did I take away from the session?

I realised that I'm already doing a bang on job showing my students that you can live healthfully, vitally and energetically on fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds and grains.

If eating a wholefood plant-based diet just allowed our kids to stay thin and disease-free for life, that would be reason enough.

Knowing that ham, cheese and eggs consume vastly more resources than plant foods and are a product of animal exploitation and cruelty just hammers in those final nails into the coffin. No child deserves to be lied to (I think we can agree that when SO much information is freely and readily available, being ignorant shouldn't be an excuse anymore), especially when those lies are making Australian children fat and predisposes them to a range of lifestyle diseases that are entirely preventable.

20180514_154537.jpg

A talented group of teachers continue to have their values of old reinforced by misinformed instructors with good intentions. Can we actually look at the evidence now? It's 2018.

20180514_160512.jpg

We made salad faces on rice thins. Their recipe called for cream cheese. I'd suggest hummus or tofutti 'better than cream cheese'. Notice the cranky eyebrows on my salad face? I was artistically expressing my emotions.

Let's move on.

I've been rereading Rich Tommaso's Dry County. Did I tell you anything about it, yet? I'm loving it. Maybe we'll chat about it tomorrow, eh?

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.

If you've enjoyed the article, please UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND COMMENT.

This article isn't medical advice, was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nickmorphew! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

yummy...i am sure it tastes good

Actually, the rice paper roll kinda sucked. My dahls and spaghetti are so much better.

Nick.

If you really want to support the #vincentb tag on steemit, lets all come together and give Vincent some support with his new Eden Cryptocurrency Hardware Wallet

Give this a like and write your own piece on it, no matter how large all small it all gains awareness, united we are many, lets help give some airtime to a startup by a trader and investor just like ourselves. #vincentb unite.

I always enjoy to read your posts Nick. It's a real shame that the instructors are not mlre enlightened on this subject. As you say it's 2018. Whe should be looking at the facts

Thanks, Nicole. As a teacher, this just frightens me. The children. The children.

Then, if you say anything, you're a blasphemer. It's thunderdome.

Have a good one.

Nick.

A great way to support our kids!

Ahhhhh @nickmorphew.... I cannot even think of the words to express how hard I am wanting to smack my head into the computer about this issue...

Mothers forcing their kids to drink milk and eat their meat is seen too much on my facebook feed from parents that are learning their kids need poison which as you mentioned, couldn't be further from the truth!

I really hope that sometime, somehow the schooling system can figure out the truth and get these children the proper nutrition they need to actually be healthy. I am happy they are trying, it just seems that they need more information. Lucky someone like you is around to inspire, right? :)

Love your face (on the plate!) I'd be feeling the same way!

Hey H2H!

Thanks for saying g'day. Yes yes. Very frustrating indeed. All I could do was internally shake my head while they were prattling on about cheese constantly. Ewwwwwwwww

Seriously, if the kids knew the truth about the food they were being told is so healthy for them, they'd be throwing it on the floor.

Sorry.. that post should have come with a pillow for all the head bashing.

I'm not sure how inspiring I am.. hopefully as healthy people, we can just lead by example eating whole, delicious plant foods full of antioxidants and fibre. It is an uphill battle, though!

Take care and thanks for stopping in. I really appreciate your thoughtful insights!

Cheerio.
Nick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21