What if I don't know what I want to do with my life?

in #life8 years ago

I remember the time when I was still hesitating about what I want to do and who I want to become. Today I would like to talk to this younger me and tell him something very important I have learned today...

I went to the supermarket this morning. I was really hungry.

What do I want for breakfast? Salty? Sweet?

Something light and quick or something filling?

Eggs and toast, maybe with an avocado sliced on top? Bean tacos? A cup of coffee and a hearty cookie? A muffin? Maybe chai and fruit!

I really, really want something, but I don’t know what.

A woman is standing in front of me drinking a chocolate protein drink. I ask her if it’s good.

It’s the most delicious protein shake I’ve ever had, she says.

I grab one, open it and take a big slug. As a food lover, I never would have thought “I want a protein shake” but it’s creamy and thick and satisfying and I feel like my whole body is thanking me for choosing just what I needed.

This is what life is like.

I don’t know what I want.

Instead of feeling angst about this, which makes me feel inadequate, nervous, fearful, stressed, closed off, I have learned that not knowing what I want is a gift, not a curse.

It keeps me receptive, open and ready to welcome the perfect thing.

Sort:  

Living in the moment can open us up to real possibilities. Often planning our lives closes us off to new and wonderful spontaneous adventures.

thanks for this comment. I "knew" this before, but now I "get" it. There is a big difference. At least to me. :) Thank you for your comment @angelheld

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42