Metal Detecting Adventures Ep. 3 - Well Hello, Busty Betty!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Busty Betty!



It was a hot afternoon and I was trying my best to teach an impatient seven year-old boy the fine art of dirt fishing! It was supposed to be like Andy and Opie in one of those father and son moments.



"Swing it low and slow, son. That's it! Yeah, I know it's hot .... Yeah, I know finding pull tabs is boring, but you gotta dig them if you want to find the treasures... I don't know if we'll find any monsters if we keep digging like in Minecraft... FOCUS SON!"

Another hole. More junk...then another... can slaw... Ugh! Just about the time I thought this kid was plotting a mutiny I hear him say, "Dad, I got something good, I think it's a quarter." Yes! I'm thinking to myself, finally, the hard work had paid off! He'll be rewarded with 25 cents, which; to this kid is another chink in his Star Wars piggy bank!

But Oh No. That's not my life. That's way too easy.

"Dad, it's not a quarter."
"Oh yeah? What you got buddy?"
"Dad, there's a naked lady on the front"
"And the back shows her butt!"

I took the coin from my son and there she was in all her naked glory. Busty Betty!



IMG_5147.JPG
Oh great! Really? The birds and the bees talk.. I'm not prepared for this today! Well fortunately for me, seven year-old boys think butts are hilarious, so he just laughed hysterically for the next 10 minutes talking about her butt, and I avoided an awkward conversation for another day! Eventually, I flipped him a quarter for a job well done, and seized the Busty Betty for myself!

Busty Betty Strikes Again

About a month later, I was digging another location and I'll be damned if I didn't dig up another one!! That got me wondering what these coins were for?

As it turns out, these coins were novelty items first created in the late 19th Century. Apparently, they also saw a lot of action in WWII as soldiers rubbed ol' Busty Betty for good luck!!! So there you have it: Busty Betty's a War Hero, who may have helped calmed the nerves of many GIs!

I hope you enjoyed Ep. 3 of my Metel Detecting Adventures. Please give me an Upvote if you'd like to see more of this series. And keep digging those holes!

Source - http://calgarynumismaticsociety.weebly.com/busty-betty-token.html

Sort:  

Well that one good story. You teach your children good things. Lul!

Thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to read it! Parenting! Am I right? It's stories like these we'll remember forever.

Hello, MAP11 has started! please go to "Six of the Best" MAP11 Minnow Contest [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]. Please look at the suggestions for all participants, especially creating a comment showcasing your best recent work. Good luck!

And don't forget, you can get further inspiration and assistance at the MAP Members Only Discord chatroom.

Thanks! I just posted my comment.

gl on MAP ... that's some weird nudie coin (-:

How funny! I never knew such a thing existed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29