You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Do you pray for the dead?" ~ Ruminations on God's Sovereignty Over Time

in #life6 years ago

This is a skin-tingling way of thinking about it.

oh, why bother, it's too late, they're dead, their fate is sealed

Saying that is just putting a limit on God that matches what we humans think makes sense, specifically how life and death and time works. Of course we know nothing.

Allowing for the power that God possesses means that nobody's fate is truly sealed. It's a brain-bending way of looking at it, but only because our brains are so tiny and don't bend very well.

Sort:  

Indeed, the older I get, the more I recognize just how little I truly know, and the more (hopefully) humble I become in my approach to others' ideas.

"Allowing for the power that God possesses means that nobody's fate is truly sealed."

I think I might express this somewhat differently:

Allowing for the power that God possesses means that everyone's fate is truly sealed, but in the best possible way both for themselves and for all concerned...

And that in the meanwhile, I can continue to hope for what presently seems to me to be the best outcome for any particular individual...

Thanks for weighing in! :D

It's pretty easy to know more. Just read the Bible. The older I get the more I know.

God cannot lie. So yes, God limits himself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57