You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO SURVIVE A NARCISSISTIC MOTHER AND KEEP YOUR SANITY

in #life7 years ago

You have captured perfectly the realities for children of narcissists!! I know this well from the inside too. One thing that really freed me up from the guilt trip involved in my decision to stop trying to help her and meet her needs first was when a therapist told me that nothing I could do could would ever be enough for her. I couldn't possibly fix her nor really even help her very much so I might as well focus my relationship with her on taking care of myself and giving where I wish, and basically make the relationship work for me. I have and mostly it works for me but sometimes I get sucked in to hoping for a little love or acknowledgement or something motherly from her and I have to snap back in to reality. Thanks for a thoughtful and excellent post!

Sort:  

also - resteemed and followed :-)

That is quite true when you said "ever be enough for her". The really tough part is to accept that they are unable to give love. They can say the word Love but you don't feel love.

Thanks for your comments @natureofbeing glad to help.

Yes you're so right, the impact and repercussions of having a parent who can say the word love but actually not be capable of loving are deep and far reaching and I know for me, I am still healing myself even in my 40s!

Yes, don't get discouraged. It takes time to heal this kind of abuse that goes deep to the core of who we are. Reconnecting to self acceptance and self nurture is a way to open up to Love again (and a major victory).

Thanks and yes so true!! have a beautiful day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51