You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Were You When The Internet Was New?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Using CompuServe.com on my Psion Organiser! Also people giving me patronising looks when I talked about email, and smugly saying "I like to have face-to-face conversations with real people" (in other words, "Shut up, weirdo!")

Sort:  

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I didn't know you could get the net on one of those things! I think CompuServe was my first ISP and I remember being confused by the numbers they used instead of names. They were considered a more "serious" provider than the others.

I was the first person to order anything online in my neighborhood, a book from Amazon. People thought I was nuts to put my personal info online, but I knew it was the future of commerce.

Yes, my Psion had a small modem which did actually work! It was a while before I ordered anything online - though I did book a trip to the Pacific Islands online in 1997. That seemed like a crazy thing to do at the time, though it worked out well in the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43