Becoming a “Warrior” in Thailand. Ch 1: Pt 7. The Love of the Game.

in #life6 years ago

smiling on Ropes.JPG

The Renaissance Man Project is an original non-fiction novel by Nathaniel Kostar, occasionally known as Nate Lost. Follow @natelost

Read Ch 1, Pt 6

Afternoon Training, Day 2. Tiger Muay Thai. Phuket, Thailand.

I’m mulling around the lobby at Tiger trying to kill time before the afternoon training session, using one of the computers to check my email, when I start chatting with a young Norwegian named Lars.

He’s about 5’10’’ and built like a cinderblock. He must weigh close to 200 pounds, and very little of that weight is fat. In fact, once you get to know Lars he will tell you exactly how much of that weight is fat. It is the sort of thing he pays close attention to.

Lars has long, dirty-blonde hair pulled back by a headband, and a sharp, distinguished nose that hints at Viking ancestry. Though his body is fierce, he has a kind smile and lively eyes, and before long we strike up a conversation next to the two computers positioned outside the check-in office. He has recently arrived at Tiger and is taking the beginner Muay Thai classes as well. He plans to spend six months training at Tiger, fight, and return home to Norway to open his own gym. We chat for a few minutes before heading to the training area to prepare for class.

Before our session begins, Lars stretches on the mats and I notice that he not only touches his toes, he extends his palms to the floor with the elasticity of a gymnast. For someone his size (or any size) it’s impressive, and I wonder how long it took him to become that flexible, or if he was born that way.

When I inquire about his flexibility he tells me that he has come directly from China, where he spent the past six months in the mountains studying Qi-jong, Kung Fu, and meditation.

The afternoon workout begins with a jog and as we run in circles around the mat I notice a kid who can’t be any older than nine or ten training on his own off to the side. He looks serious and focused as he shadow-boxes, knees, kicks and punches the heavy bag, jogs, does sit-ups and pushups, and practices combinations. His training is intense, and he is completely on his own. Perhaps he’s a Muay Thai prodigy, I think. If not, he certainly wants to be. In a way, he reminds me of myself as a kid on the basketball court late at night, alone, running sprints, working on my left hand, jump-shot, and cross-over dribble.

It’s not uncommon (or illegal) for Muay Thai fighters to start young. I heard a rumor about a six-year-old boy training at the camp who won his last fight by TKO with a kick to his opponent’s head.

For a moment, as I watch the kid train—eager and self-motivated—I wonder, Why Muay Thai? Why fighting? Why the obsession with this dangerous sport that exacts such a toll on one’s body?

I know it cannot be solely for the money. Most Muay Thai fighters don’t earn much—between 4000 and 6000 baht ($130-$200) is the average purse per fight, which despite being significant by Thai standards, is probably not worth risking your life on a weekly basis. Is there more to it? The desire to fight, to me, seems so absurd, so unnecessary… so painful.

And then I think about why I wanted to be a basketball player as a kid. Without the slightest thought as to why, I spent thousands of hours of my life working on perfecting my skill in a game.

No doubt basketball was ingrained deeply in my culture, and something I was exposed to at a very young age. The courts near my house were always full and basketball games were often on the TV. The players were people I looked up to, men whose physical prowess and fine-tuned skills brought joy to watch. I was even named after a standout basketball player my dad had watched play for Trenton High when he was growing up. So of course, I wanted to be a part of the game, and in a way, I was meant (and taught) to be.

But the reason I worked so hard at basketball throughout my childhood, I realize, was simple. At some point, I fell in love. And when love is involved, why becomes an inadequate question.

I look over at the kid again. His eyes are focused on the bag as if it is a prophecy.

cover art.jpg

The Renaissance Man Project has been in the works for many years and I'm excited to release pieces of it on Steemit. If you want to support the book please hit me w/ an Upvote & Follow @natelost if you're on Steemit. And if you're not on Steemit, you should consider checking it out, especially if you're a content creator.

You can also support The Renaissance Man Project and The Lost Podcast by visiting my Patreon page

I also make music. My first album, Love 'n' Travel, was recorded in New Orleans, LA by Db Productions and is available on Spotify and Bandcamp

Follow me on Twitter @NateLostWords
Facebook @NateLostArt/
or visit NateLost.com.

Muchisimas gracias for reading and supporting independent art.
MAD Love.

Read Intro, Part 1
Read Intro, Part 2
Read Intro, Part 3
Read Intro, Part 4

Read Ch 1, Part 1
Read Ch 1, Part 2
Read Ch 1, Part 3

Read Ch1, Part4
Read Ch 1, Part 5
Read Ch 1: Pt 6

#GETLOST #LovenTravel #SinFronteras

DSC_0790.JPG

DSC_0780.JPG

DSC_0783.JPG

Sort:  

Awesome man keep it up and keep killing it! I’m heading back to Thailand in 2 weeks for another camp! It’s killer but after a week or so your body and nervous system becomes acclimated and you can really start pushing! Are you training 2x a day 6 days a week?

That's awesome! What camp are you going to? Yeah it definitely gets easier as your body adjusts and gets stronger. I'm not now. This chapter is about a month I did at Tiger Muay Thai years ago.. I put in almost 100 hours of training in a month, which was about all i could handle haha. Thanks for reading!

Oh cool! Yea it’s so rewarding isn’t it:) I train at Jun Muay Thai on Koh Samui! I love it there, I’ll be in full swing again 2 weeks from now and already getting some nerves about the intensity of the workouts! Going to be great fun all the same:)

Nice.. the Koh's are beautiful! good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59