You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk—Importance of Being Charitable from a Young Age!

in #life7 years ago

Great article @firepower! My first experience of feeling like I wanted to help people was when I was in 7th grade, and my dad used to smoke cigarettes. I had heard a lot about the effects of smoking and I really wanted him to stop, but talking to him about it didn't seem to make any difference. So I researched and wrote a speech for a class project about all the reasons why smoking is bad for a persons health, and I presented it to my class, and to him. Lol sound familiar. A few years later he did eventually quit :)

I absolutely agree that philanthropy is an important part of life. And I don't think I would be happy if I wasn't involved in these kinds of activities. I think that once I became aware of certain social and humanitarian issues, I couldn't ignore them. I had to take part. Sort of like once you have the problem starting you in the face, you have to take some responsibility for it, in whatever way you can. I think we are all faced with this challenge. And it takes perseverance sometimes to take responsibility for things that are so much bigger than us. But I think it's harder to ignore them. And it's really worth doing something to help in the end. Thanks so much for sharing this! :)

Sort:  

Thank you Natasha for sharing this with me! I'm glad to know that he quit smoking daily. Overdoing anything can lead to terrible consequences sometimes. It would've been great to see your presentation I'm sure. It certainly had a positive impact on your dad, which I think is great!

It's hard for me to shy away from facing situation as they come. If i'm in a position to help, I try. 90% of the time I'm able to help, but sometimes it might not be possible.

I'm happy to see you stop by on my blog and take the time to read and write back such a wonderful reply! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51