You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life is a Natural Right - In response to "Abortion Is a Natural Right"

in #life8 years ago

I'm not religious, but I have a moral and ethical issue with abortion. So for others to suggest it's just about the religious trying to exert their control over others misses the point. However, this is just my personal point of view, and it isn't one I seek to enforce on others. I understand the nature of the topic, and it does have grey areas. But ending life is not a right, it's perhaps more of a necessity at times in people lives.

As for the unborn fetus being a parasite - I'd not heard that argument. If that were the case, then I'd think that an argument could be made to say that all life is parasitic.

Sort:  

Thanks.
I was very careful to keep religion out of this one. Everyone knows that argument. It's very clear. So is this argumentation, if one is willing to be objective.

I normally stay out of these type of discussions. But I appreciated your post, and the expression of your thoughts, and just wanted to have an input. My personal perspective on these matters is that we, as a species, are innately flawed (for reasons best left to another discussion :) ), and part of the expression of that flaw is found in issues like abortion. To philosophise about whether a fetus even constitutes life or not is indicative of that human flaw. Enough from me - carry on.

I'm not a childkiller!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62