You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Regret and Remorse

in #life6 years ago

You have a great example to define and convey the value of each in a clear, meaningful way.

For some reason I thought of our son who has always told me he'd rather I would be mad than disappointed. I found this later to mean he would then be disappointed in himself. Then I figured out he thinks it is easier to overcome mad than disappointed. Fine line.

And now the cynic, young people still form values but I see they are formed on a narrow view, limited life exposure and self-serving approach to life and the world. (Sorry)

Sort:  

It is easier to overcome mad than disappointed, no doubt about it.

And for the cynic. I believe that if we truly mature and not just grow up, we will shake off those self serving thoughts that we took as values and grow into better people. If you can go look in the mirror and tell me your the same person you were when you were 20, 30, or even 40 (I remember how your age), I won't be mad at you but I will be disappointed.

I sure as hell hope I am not the same person. What a waste of learning experiences that would be.

If you can't, don't or won't take stock in your values you go nowhere. Getting older sometimes is no more than changing, growing . Facing regret and remorse, along with all life's emotions are a part of these changes.

That is why some are older than their years and others never grow up.

Yes, so those young people that, in your words, form values but I see they are formed on a narrow view, limited life exposure and self-serving approach to life and the world, hopefully won't stay that way.

This world is messed up enough. Can you imagine how bad it would be if we had started 5 or 6 generations ago only basing our lives on the beliefs of 20 year olds? I don't mean to offend any young people but at 59 my view of the world still changes as time goes by. If you're in your early 20's, write down your thoughts on the world right now, read them in 10 years and if you still agree with everything, get a therapist because you need help.

Maybe we should write down our view of the world and read it in 10 years. Never too early to start.

By the way, wanted to acknowledge the four cent upvote! It was my lucky day.

Maybe in our case, it's never too late to start.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76