#SteemBegging: Hello Sir, I Follow You. I Always Wait For Your Posts. I Like Your Writing. I Vote You! Pls Vote Me Back!

in #life6 years ago

How about that for a title?

Have you ever seen those words? Of course you have! If you are an active Steemian, chances are that you have even written them yourself. Right or Right? Lolx.

Steem Vote begging.png
Well, I too have written them courtesy of trying to explain it to you. Smh! Anyhoo...


What Is Steem-Begging?

Steem-begging simply means the act of begging on the steem blockchain. This process of begging could include some ugly self-deprecating actions such as

  • Ass-kissing
  • Sycophancy
  • Memo-begging
  • Comment, follow, upvote & resteem begging
  • Discord/chat begging etcz...

It becomes begging especially when the beggar have failed to build a relationship with the beggee. Or more so when the steembeggar has not brought any form of value to the beggee.
Screenshot_2018-02-28-17-28-31.png
You kiss ass, they fart on your face!


Does It Ever Work?

Does vote & follow-begging ever work? I highly doubt it. Do people still do it? Yeap! Regardless of what I say, I'm still going to likely see such comments on this post. I pray I don't oh.

What people fail to understand is this... in as much as Steemit is a very free place where love is abound and everyone seems nice, you should not abuse it.

Think about this as if its real life coz it is. Do you normally just walk up to people and be like "I greet you everyday. I smile whenever I see you. Now you should gimme money. Lets exchange money...". The person will be like;

what the heck?

They may actually bundle you up to the nearest psychaitric center. But in reality thats how shitty you sound. You sound like a broken record from the 70's. Jeez!
dog-2785074__340.jpg
You look like this dog while begging...



Some Effects Of Vote-Begging!

1- You lose relevance:
You may read that again! Whenever you beg for votes over and over, you lose your reputation in the community. You know that a reputation is worth more than money right? No one will take you seriously any longer.

2- You Lose Support:
If someone supports you willingly, then don't ever make the mistake of begging him/her for upvote. Just let it happen gradually. Rome was not built in a day.

3- You May Get Flagged:
Some people may not just ignore you or warn you, they may actually flag the hell outta your blog. You may wake up someday with a reputation of -10. Then you will wish you had gotten $0.00 and remained content with it.
poverty-96293_960_720.jpg
Are you this poor? Really??!



4 Things To Do Instead Of Begging!

1- Give Gifts:
This may sound counter-intuitive but it does work. Instead of begging him/her for a vote, why not support his/her project. Surprise him/her with some little sbd/steem/whatever and say "thank you!"

2- Ask Them For A Way To Support Their Projects:
This always works like magic. If someone you know is doing something great, support them. Volunteer in their projects and get rewarded. It doesn't matter how much work you do. But the fact that you offered to help is a big plus.

3- Leave Valuable Comments On Their Blogs:
This point have already been over-beaten like a dead horse but it always works. When your mentor makes a post, why not leave valuable comments on the post? Interact with not just his post but also his commenters. You must be noticed eventually.

4- You May Politely Ask Them To Checkout Your Blog For Corrections:
This one is even very risky. Only do this when you are sure you have quality content and you are willing to accept criticisms. Also mind the individual you do this for. Extremely busy people who are not interested in teaching may not listen to you.
money-3097319_960_720.jpg
Give! instead of taking



The other day I took time to visit the blogs of some blokes who have been frequently commenting on my posts. They didn't need to beg for it. I just felt I should give back to them out of my own will.

It felt good when I did give them some upvotes on their blog posts. I also gave a few valuable feedbacks that would be worth much more than my votes.

On the other hand, when you beg for votes, you deprive the beggee of the joy of giving. He/she may still do it for you but you have made it less fun for everyone.

Some people just message and you check it to see a straight-up link. Oh my gosh! That's not how to make friends on Steemit my dearies. Matter of fact, thats not how you make friends in life either.

No one ever grows by begging. You grow by bringing value. If you have something meaningful you are doing, infact, the whales will even message you.


I think I need to start a series on the 48 Laws Of Steem Power!

Maybe you need that to really learn how power works. Beggars aren't chosers...And I want to be a choser. If you are like me then you may consider not begging ever again!.



I still believe that...

Impossible Is Nothing!



I Remain me, my mouth & eye @nairadaddy aka SteemDaddy. My aim is to leave you better than I find you everyday!

Proudly A...
DQmSkU5MCz1ntccnY226tMr8Nkaki5p3j5php4guXqNTKhC_1680x8400.png


Join @Air-Clinic- The Steemit Health Community On Discord
Screenshot_2018-01-25-09-42-19.png

Sort:  

I really won't blame anyone for doing such cos it could be frustrating making posts and end up earning nothing
But over time I learnt that the best way to earn on steemit is buy being relevant in anyway possible. Even in the way you write your posts. As time goes by a lot of people will learn these things you've listed out. Thanks for this.

Well personally I hate begging, I just believe in doing something and doing it well. Maybe u could have 0.00 payout in all your 10posts but believe me maybe one day someone might upvote the 12th one with 70sbd and you might be lucky depending on the content of the others go on to Upvote the rest with 35 and 20sbds respectively.... So the end point is provide content it will pay one day!!

With 70SBD?

Bros, wake up na 😂

I have seen 47 before.... They Upvoted the guys 2post. If people like @berniesanders, @ned or @curie should upvote your post with full Voting power,how much is that??

While we hope for days like that to come, we gotta stay true to the game by working hard and long enough.

Congrats on your new reputation (46)

Ado big boy idaha ami

Hahahahhahahaahahahhahha bros kpong mkpo adoe oooo k mmasine k 45 nnie uuuuuuduk 😢😢

Lolzz.. It's actually true. People do beg for upvotes. I'm grateful for the support I had tho, I don't think I have ever found my self in such a condition where I am forced to beg for upvotes. I guess minnows nowadays seem to be impatience and furious. They seem to be in a hurry to earn from steemit which is not meant to be so. I just hope we can find the best way to discourage them from involving in this act and enlighten on the best way to get there upvotes.
Thanks for sharing this.

Great job @nairadaddy. I'm thinking most people resort to begging out of desparation to earn money on the steem network. Perhaps they've been struggling for a long time, yet nothing seems to be coming forth.
Taken together, begging is really demeaning and I see it as an infantile indulgence.
Your submission on what to do instead of begging is really the big message everyone needs to internalize!

True story,
Keep Awesome friend!

Thanks for this post, i am new here and just introduced myself today atleast I have learnt something new from you.

I swear i dey feel u @nairadaddy...

Wow.
This is true.
I know someone that DM a whale and immediately dropped his link without a word, he told me that the whale immediately blocked him
I was like why not. You never bothered to find out as little as how the persons day went and you are there dumping your link without being asked.
He does the same to me. If he wasn't my friend I just might be ignoring him too.

You make beautiful post. I love so much. You follow I follow okay? Thanyouverymuch. Lol.

There, now I've done it too. :)

Ahhhhhhhhhhhh. Likzz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44