How I survived a panic attack : WhatsApp live tracking

in #life7 years ago

At times we tend to get so comfortable in our situations we do not realize we are taking things for granted. I have been sitting on this story, trying to figure out the angle to write it from, or maybe I have just been scared.
A few weeks back on an evening, I went out for coffee with a friend of mine. We were discussing the progress of a project I am managing and he is the lead developer. Of course, we digressed and lost track of time, catching up on the current political situation, a friend was getting married, and he had just gotten a huge project. It started raining heavily and normally a distance that I would walk seemed like a mt. Everest climb expedition. We settled on uber. Yaay! they were also running a promotion, I would spend 200 instead of 300kes. Jackpot, right?

Ordering an uber is quite easy. But, what I had taken for granted till that day was being vigilant while taking the cabs at night. I will say, I wasn't attacked or harmed in any way. But, while in that vehicle, I strongly believed I would have, save for the few steps I took.

So the guy picks me up at TRM, and I am headed to Kasarani equity. A 5 minutes drive at that hour as there is no traffic. But he continues on Kamiti road. How that didn't raise any flag, is still a mystery to me.

"Don't you know where you are going? I dropped a pin at equity?" I ask

"Aaaah, Madam, huku si kwetu. " he answers
" Turn around, take the roundabout and continue on Kasarani Mwiki road" I volunteer.

I had been in a meeting and since I thought my instructions were quite clear, I went back to my phone to answer some messages. No traffic at that time. So in two minutes, you could be in a wrong place without noticing. So I raise my head when I notice no bumps have been passed or some few potholes that notify you that you are headed to Mwiki. And to my surprise, the guy is speeding down the highway towards Githurai.

"Ngai! What the hell? Unaenda wapi?" I ask
"Madam, si umesema Githurai?" He answers a bit amused. I still do not get why.

I know very well I didn't say Githurai and fear suddenly grip me, my legs turn cold, I am having trouble breathing and my head feels heavy. The feeling escalates as now my brain starts to convince me that I am being drugged. Hence the reason I am feeling weak.

"open the window please" I mumble

And he opens, maybe he is not a bad person after all. I want to pick a fight, but my body cannot move. I have heard stories of how people are abducted in taxis at night. God, I don't want to be a statistic. The wind blowing in and in my mind, I mount on to do some Lamaze breathing. Deep slow breathes at the beginning. It will be okay Flo. I keep saying in my head over and over.
Finally, I feel warmth returning to my feet, as we approach the roundabout. As usual, there is traffic here, I cannot keep my window rolled down. Still, if I close it, I will start experiencing the feeling again. Plus, who told me to sit in the back seat? Maybe he has child lock. I have to do something to keep calm. I am furious and scared. What kind of MaryJane is this guy smoking? Why would I drop a pin in Kasarani and ask to be taken to Githurai? God, I read a story of a girl who disappeared in this area, don't let that be me.

" Does uber app include a map on your phone?" I am starting to ask obvious questions.
" Eeeeh Madam, iko nayo" I want to slap him senseless but I ask
" Do you know how to use it?"
"Yes"
" Then why am I in Githurai? You want me to pay more for this trip or what? The estimate was 200 and that is the only thing I will pay"

At this juncture, I share my trip ETA with my best friend. I call her up and tell her how this guy took me to Githurai instead of Kasarani, I need her to track me. She is freaked out. How does he look like? I take a screenshot of his profile and send it to her. I create a small talk about my AP police boyfriend telling her loudly how we are going rock climbing next weekend. I figure if he hears I know a policeman he will change his plans if he had any bad ones.

Then he ends the trip. F***! Immediately my friend calls me.
" Have you arrived?"
"No."

This is really starting to look bad.

"I will send you my location on whatsApp." I explain, that the driver has ended the trip prematurely. I call my AP boyfriend. He is not. I ask him kama amerudi kutoka patrol. Ofcourse, the person I call doesn't understand what I am saying till I narrate the story.

The rain is really coming down, but to be safe, I am ready to alight and figure a way to get home. Then I discover the live location on WhatsApp. By this time we have gone round the roundabout and he takes the route back to town. I feel safer that he didn't disappear to Githurai. Still, I send the live location to my friend set to track me for one hour. I undo my safety belt, remove a pen I had in my bag and stay ready to draw some blood should it come to that. My self defense classes would be put to some use.

" Where do you come from?" I am a bit relaxed now and can ask questions. People know where I am.
"Kiambu, Wangige"
" And you don't know. Thika Road well" Before he answers I proceed to give him directions on a shortcut so he doesn't disappear with me. 10 minutes later I alright and he drives off before he is even paid.

Seems my fear was real. He didn't want to be seen by anyone, or maybe he was just pissed the trip caused him more than he made.

Takeaways from this:

  1. Avoid back seat: if you must sit there check for child lock. Also at the front seat, you can steer the car and people would suspect something is wrong.
  2. Be vigilant: check the driver knows where he is dropping you. If anything, agree on the route before you start the trip.
  3. If you do not feel safe. Send somebody your live location. WhatsApp has that as an attachment, under location.
  4. Your instincts are always right.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Stay safe. Steem on!

Sort:  

OMG! My fingers were crossed the whole time. That is so frightening, goodness! I always prefer the back seat... never thought about the child lock thingy. Thanks for sharing your experience @mutitum, I know to be careful next time I use these cabs.

I have never felt so helpless as those few seconds when panic set in. Please sit at the front from now on. unless you are not alone.

The uber drivers always curse the day they joined - overworked and underpaid! 25% of their earnings go to uber less other costs and the struggle is real.

Consider all that and you have a few rots deciding they could earn earn a pretty penny through dubious ways. There has been stories of rape, kidnap and even murder!!

We can't't always know who is good or bad, we ride on assumptions that it could happen to us. So we don't sit and get comfortable, we stay alert, we engage in small talk and most importantly trust that gut feeling..

Thanks for your post, your pointers can save somebody's life!

Thanks for the safety tips @mutitum, one has to always be careful these days.

This post has received a 2.59 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @mutitum

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

At this rate i don't think uber will survive in this market.

Gosh this was scary. I always sit in the back seat but now I am rethinking it. Don't you think if you sit at the front, you will be too helpless & scared to communicate to friends and family because the driver will be right next to you??
But again, better safe than sorry.

o mehn, I am glad you got out safe though! Smart thinking in a thick situation matters a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80