Social Work Values.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7627.JPG

Values

Values are extremely important in social work as a social worker will act on personal values when working with a client. For example, a personal value of my own is to make sure people are treated equally regardless of age, sexual orientation, race and different ability; therefore, ensuring each time working with a client, this value is at the centre of my decision making.
I'm not naive enough to know that some people may not share the same values as me, one experience in particular stocks out during my time at college. My college class friends and I were discussing values and how our own personal values may conflict with social work, I shared mine and told the class I'd struggle to work with pedophiles.. which everyone agreed with. Then my friend shard hers and said, gay people- my eyes darted around and I was shocked. Asking why, my friend said "c'mon Jodie how would you feel if one of your beautiful boys came home and said mum I'm gay, you'd be fuming" And I responded by saying, "No, not at all- as long as my boys are happy I'm happy." And that's the honest truth, my friends seemed to frown on my response. I discovered my friends value was from a cultural place, growing up within a community or family not accepting of gay people; moulds many a mind.

IMG_7626.JPG

This example highlights the different values, prejudices and judgements individuals believe. In social work it is important to work through these feelings and not allow to interfere with any decisions. Which is why social work encourages its professionals to reflect on each different experience throughout life in order to learn and grow.

IMG_7628.JPG

There are many texts on social work values, as values form an important part of the profession. A social workers values ensure one works with compassion and respect, and always mindful of the many different cultures, norms, traditions and differences of every individual person. Social work is helping me to understand how important it is to except people's individuality, no matter how diverse. My social work journey has only started, there is a lot for me to learn and experience about my own personal values and the values of others.

Thank you for reading.

Mumanduniversity x

Image credits- Google
Text book/Web sources- Ethics and Values in Social Work 2015, Linda Bell.
British Association of Social Workers.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mumanduniversity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mumanduniversity! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi , nice article. :) I'm a social worker from Germany. You talk about a very important topic concerning the profession of social workers. I think it is fundamental in our job to reflect our own feelings, accept them and do our job right away. I hope can make my position clear (with my english :D) I Mean, whatever value you have, or negative feelings, If you now what your job is, and you know how to act right, that is ok.

And on the other side, others shouldn't be mad at someone, who sais, he/she can't work with a special group of people. Those fears should be taken seriously and one better identifies the reasons behind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54