Prison life and a non effective prison system.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Prison through my eyes.

In life we all go through similar experiences but each have our unique perceptions on it.  Many people have gone to prison and have had a wide range of different experiences.  Some good and far too many of them are bad.  I have had both. Here's my story.


My name is David or as many of you have come to know me @mrviquez.  I have been locked up far too many times and my experiences have changed me forever.  I was inspired to write about this topic by the Steemit user @trafalgar.  He wrote an article about the prison system and it's effectiveness.  It kind of surprised me to see that someone show interests in those who are considered to be the scum of the earth.  And yes there are many scumbags in prison, but there are more people who simply made a wrong decision.  But that doesn't matter in the prison system.  All that matters is that you have a conviction therefore making you guilty and a criminal.  


Did I deserve to go to prison?  Yes absolutely.  But did I deserve to be housed with murderers and rapist. (Even a serial killer, two to be exact) I could have easily lost more than just my freedom being around that kind of criminal.  But who am I to judge.  We are here to speak on the effectiveness of the prison system.  A system that I know very well and sadly have become immune to.  Now I'm not saying I love jail but I've been there so many times it would affect me much less than someone who is locked up for the first time.


Now back to the topic at hand.  How can a prison system be considered effective if the recidivism rate is extremely high in the United States?  Shouldn't people who come into prison leave with a different mentality?  That is not the case, in fact most felons leave prison with a more aggressive attitude and higher IQ in crime.  


The biggest problem we have in our prison system is the gangs.  They literally control it hands down.  I've seen guys come in with that look in their eyes, the same look that a deer gives you right before you kill it.  These gang members smell that a mile away.  Shit I can smell it a mile away.  In less than one minute I can tell if someone has been incarcerated before.  So what ends up happening is on commissary day those who appear to be wet get preyed on.  And if you try to stand up for yourself you will pay severely.  So how can we rehabilitate our citizens in such an atmosphere.  Now that is just one aspect.


Now let's talk about the Correctional officers.  First let me start off by saying I don't dislike all C.O's but let's just say I won't like you until you prove to me that you can still treat me like a human. 


Quick Story


From 2007 til early 2009 I was incarcerated.  Yeah I know that's a little stretch.  During this time I was in Passaic County Jail in New Jersey.  Let's just say that was the most horrible place I have ever served time at.  The kicker is that it's not even a State Prison it's only a county Jail.  This place was so horrible I signed a plea deal for 4 years just to get out of there and go to prison.   I had no way of bailing out and I was just sitting there for 18 months.  This jail is ran by the sheriff department, and let me say they are some mean bastards.  In this jail the sheriff hand deliver any mail you receive.  So one day it was the normal routine for mail call but one of the inmates was angry at the guard for reasons I can't even remember.    They were exchanging words at first and the Sheriff was taking it all as a joke and even laughing.  But the very second the inmate shouted "Fuck You" everything changed in an instant.  The entire room went silent.  It was as if everyone knew what was about to happen except me.  I honestly didn't think what was said was serious.  I had seen plenty altercations just like this one with nothing happening.  The guard smirked at him and told him I'lol be right back.  In less than five minutes ten C.O.s from the S.O.R.T (Special Operation Response Team) stormed in yelling and screaming for everyone to get on their bunks face down.  They had on all black with these huge looking paintball guns with lasers on them. I thought I was in one of those crazy jail movies.  The officer of the altercation walked in the unit and pointed out the inmate who cursed at him.  They all immediately rushed him hitting him with batons and carried him out superman style right into those super this Sally port doors.  Yeah the ones that you have to buzz and give an extra hard push to open.  Obviously the door didn't even budge.  The S.O.R.T team officers joked and laughed until they opened the door with his head giving him over 30 staples in the head.  To make things a little crazier he was only arrested for child support and now was charged with felony assault on an officer.  Not to mention the new railroad track addition to his skull.  

So that is my answer to the question "How effective is our prison system".  Not very effective at all.  They are effective in only one way.  Maintaining order in the prison, and even then they fall short.  Prison nowadays is a breeding ground for criminals.  Only those who are genuinely good deep down ever escape that vicious cycle.  I'm not trying to say I'm a saint, but I was raised right with good morals. By the grace of God I am here today and not rotting away in a cell.  I have finally learned how to be a real man.  Now I work a 9-5 and swap war stories with the fellas.  But I don't miss it for one second.  

Now that I have Steemit in my life I feel like the world has opened up to me in a weird crazy way.  So maybe just maybe one day we will learn to really help someone else out.  Most of these guys locked up have nothing to look forward to when they are released.  That is the problem.  If you want to fix the prison system in my opinion all you need to do is really help these felons re-enter society.  Halfway houses do not work.  I was one of the lucky ones who was able to escape the clutches of the streets.  I just hope that this country really looks at what they are doing to their own citizens. Stop dehumanizing the same citizens you claim to be protect when you send other citizens to war.  We are all the same.  Some make mistakes and have to pay the price but the price is insanely high for those who get mixed in with the rotten apples.

If you have read this far thanks for taking the time to read this post.


This is a picture of a unit in Passaic County Jail.


This is what the outside of Passaic County jail looked like.


Check out the latest Chapter of Smoke&Chill Chapter 10

https://steemit.com/marijuana/@mrviquez/smoke-and-chill-chapter-10-back-to-crypto-basics

Sort:  

For a young kid trying to escape the violence at home it was a welcome respite, at times.
Other times it was pure terror.
At 12 years old with no family its 3 meals and a dry bed with a daily fight thrown in for good measure.
In Alaska the adult prisoners call the youth prison 'Fight Club'.
It's always on especially when you aren't looking.
There was always dark circles around their eyes, they had killed four people and weren't supposed to be together, in my cell... Sleeping between murderers is an honest experience.
The system will teach a person one of two things; become a better criminal and don't get caught next time, OR JUST NEVER GO BACK. I chose the latter.

Thanks for your comment. Yes you are right the juvenile jail is worst. Out here we call it gladiator school!!!

Nice to meet someone with a little life XP.
Peace

I hear that.

I've been through the system myself and have always noticed from day 1 how it was all about money. I remember walking into Elmira Prison in NY feeling like a product with a serial number. Although many know about the prison system and how much money it makes, I might have to write something about the parole system which is quietly making money. I remember being in a room full of ex-cons in the "re-entry program" on parole in Perth Amboy, NJ and we weren't allowed to go look for jobs because we had to stay in the building until 2PM so that the program could stay open and all the counselors and office workers could have a job. I'm not saying the parole system is worse but it definitely lives comfortably in the shadows. I remember being puzzled as to why inmates would rather finish their time on the inside than being released on parole. I quickly learned the answer. I remember about half of the inmates in the reception center were parole violators. Parole is like a "break glass in case of emergency" for the system when they need more inmates. The rabbit hole goes deep. My parole officer hated me and wouldn't even shake my hand. He wanted to see me back in prison. I was more stressed on parole than I was in prison, sounds crazy but it's true.

Great story mrviquez. It's so crazy how the world works and there's powers that be inside as outside. I am like you and have done stupid stuff in life and paid for it with incarceration. The sad part of it is that sometimes its harder on the outside. Society lables you no matter how severe the crime. But look at us now on Steemit! Steem on mrviquez Steem on!

Yes it is harder on the outside and I was blessed to be able to find an employer who looked past my criminal record. Now that I'm on Steemit I cab see a brighter future for me and my family. I live for my kids and their happiness now!!!!

I know very well the effects it can have. The system is really messed up. BUT there is a lot of things one can do for one self during those hard times. I am glad that you, like me, can reflect back on negative times in our life and be constructive about how to live them now.

Keep up the good work, stay out of trouble, and keep making money on steemit. :)

Yes I will most definitely stay out of trouble....and of course making money on Steemit will always be something I do for as long as Steemit is around. Hopefully that will be a long time!!!

Thanks for sharing. Compared to your story Dutch prisons sound like two star hotels. This might sound weird but In the Netherlands, we don't have enough prisoners so we closed 19 jails...

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-37904263

Wow thats crazy!!!!

I been there luckily very short...it still sucks..

Sleeping next to your toilet is F.. up (innocent)

@ mrviquez great story

Awesome read my man.
Do you think the sentencing for non violent crimes need to be reduced or lengthened?
For me, I see too many people getting sentenced for way to long for a non violent crime.
You know, everybody makes mistakes in life, and have to pay the consequences of their actions, but I think there's a flaw in the system.
Also, like you mentioned, I don't think people who have done a non violent crime deserve to be locked in with killers, murderers and rapists. I don't think that helps at all.

I fell like the sentences for non violent offenders should be shortened. Some of the sentencing guidelines are ridiculous.

I find in drug related cases, they are especially too long and need to be shortened. People with drug problems need help, not to be locked up.
That's just my two cents.

You hit it on the nail!!!!! The government is too worried about the money than help someone out

great interresting post !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51