Catch a Big One for Free in California Sept 3rd

in #life8 years ago

Free fishing in California on September 3rd! California allows fishing without a sport license a couple days out of the year. On September 3rd everyone is welcome to pick up a rod and reel and catch those salmon, trout, bass or even a sturgeon! Lakes, rivers, streams, and reservoirs are open as well as the ocean for abalone, spiny lobster and others. It is a great time to learn, take a lazy day outdoors, and even to teach the kids.

For the more experienced, I recommend a challenge. Head up to the Sierra Nevada range and seek out the Golden Trout. It is a beautiful fish and can only be found in the higher elevation lakes and streams. As the California state fish, it is prized. I have only ever caught one and it was a stunning fish with bright colors and patterns.    

Either way, get out there and enjoy all California has to offer.        


More information can be found at the California Dept of Fish and Wildlife https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/licensing/fishing/free-fishing-days   

Image credit: https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Portals/0/Images/Fishing/Inland/CalGoldenTrout/California_golden_trout.JPG     

Sort:  

Excellent Information to make people aware of.
Wisconsin does the same thing.
Also, beautiful Golden Trout, I just grilled up some rainbows yesterday and posted about it. Feel free to check out the recipe!

Nice recipe! Never thought of putting pico inside! Brilliant. How do you get them not to stick to the grill?
https://steemit.com/food/@papa-pepper/the-best-trout-recipe-i-know-a-homemade-recipe-from-the-archives-of-papa-pepper

Wow, you linked my post?
I just scraped them off with a spatula, and that removes some of the skin too.
It takes excellent though, so I'd give it a try.

Of course I linked your post! It is a good (I hope it will be, when I try it next time) recipe! If it wasn't a good recipe, I wouldn't have linked it. :)

I sometimes put olive oil on the skin which helps keep it from sticking and it makes the skin a bit crispy, which I like, BUT you have to keep the temp med-low otherwise it burns too easy.

Good advice on the olive oil, I could see how that could help.
Thanks @mrosenquist!

As a young girl I often went fishing with my father. That's a pretty fish pictured above. Reading this post took me back to reminisce the pleasure of childhood and enjoying nature with my father. Excellent read...

I have fond memories of my youth spending the day next to a stream, fishing and exploring. I want to provide those kinds of memories to my kids. Moments like those help foster an appreciation for nature and the need to preserve it.

Good news
I'll be at lake del valle (east bay) on the 2nd. (Opening at 6am)

Best of luck! May the fish gods look favorably on your bait. :)

Thanks for this info Great keep up the fishing stories

Actually, I need more scuba stories. Haven't gone all year. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65