Father Knows Best, Or Does He?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had one of those moments where you thought to yourself, if I had known then what I know now? I often wish I had a time machine so I can go back in time and turn things around. Well, maybe just to tweak the odd experience to where it worked out a little better for me in the end.

One example that keeps coming to mind for me dates back to when I was in high school. I know what you’re thinking…if I could have actually ended up with the girl…or, had I had the guts to take that swing at the bully pushing me around after school. As it turns out, the time I’d like to travel back to involves me and my dad.

Let me give you some background. I was writing articles as part of an assignment for my Economics Class. The way things went in this class was that we had to do weekly presentations on Fridays about that weekly article. I wasn’t really into the entire mechanics of the class but needed the credit. 

So, I played along and was doing an okay job of sliding under the radar with just a passing grade. One Thursday night (yes, I'm a proud procrastinator), I was looking around for some easy article to summarize, and I found an article on the first cryptocurrency, Bitcoins.

Untitled

So, while I was researching the buzz about cryptocurrency, I actually started to get excited about the whole concept figuring that it could eventually make me rich. Of course, still being in high school and with no money, I needed some serious investors to help get this idea of mine rolling. My first and most logical choice as a money source was my dad.   We got along pretty good. We had the standard father/son-type conversations each morning on the way to school (he drove me on his way to work) and he was usually upbeat and supportive of whatever I wanted to do. So the following morning I ceased the opportunity. 


 My dad was probably thinking "yeah right, what does this high schooler know?"  But he blew my mind by asking me for some more information. So this is where I gave my AMAZING sales pitch to win my dad over: "Well dad, I'm glad you asked. Bitcoins are these new THINGS that's like online currency. It's the first time that this is being done so I think it's gonna be very popular later on. Buy a whole bunch of bitcoins and then it'll be worth a lot later on dad. And we'll be rich!" (I'm pretty sure my dad got confused from my AMAZING sales pitch)


 I'll never forget what my dad said to me because it really crushed my spirits (but it's pretty funny now that I think about it). My dad turned to me and said: "You just need to stay in school." 


 ....then I died before I even got to present my article about Bitcoins and my teacher gave me an F

The End 

Sort:  

Good story. Really held my attention... so that last sentence is obviously fiction, but how much of the rest is based on your experience?

Everything, but the last line was true. That "amazing" sales pitch was really what I said to my father (no wonder I didn't win him over, lol).

But I actually presented my bitcoin article to my class. I'll probably have an article about that experience.

Thanks for reading!

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mr.UpUp from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62