9 weeks of Insanity is over! Down 6 kilos!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I didn't think it was possible but I have accomplished the insane and came out better than ever.

Insanity.jpgSource

For 9 weeks now I have been using the Insanity program by Shaun T and I can gladly say that I have finished it. The program goes Monday-Saturday with exercises that range from thirty minutes to an hour. I have also been doing weight lifting and bike riding Monday through Friday along with ab training. It has been a trip and here is my journey.

The Insanity

The first month is the 'easy' part where the exercises are about thirty to forty minutes long with rest on Sundays along with a recovery workout on Thursdays. Then, the fifth week is recovery week workouts. Finally, the last month is 'max' workouts. Then, for fun, that last week there is no recovery workout (yay)! I almost died this morning to finish it. Technically, I still have a fit test tomorrow, but far as I am concerned it is over.

91ded578219840a33d67c92ad5a61381.jpg Workout Calandar

I did these workouts as soon as I would get home on weekdays and after breakfast on Saturday. To say the least my schedule will be a little more open now.

Weight Lifting

Monday through Friday is weight training after school in the public gym. My Monday Wednesday and Friday was bench press, squat, shoulder press, lat pull down, and face pulls. Then, Tuesday Thursday is an interval of deadlift, incline bench press, and bicep curls. I then perform shoulder flys, downward cable crossovers, and face pulls.

My gains for workouts

Bench press 70 kgs to 140 kgs
Squat 40 kgs to 80 kgs
Incline bench press 20 kgs to 60 kgs
Lat pull down 20 kgs to 50 kgs
Bicep curls 10 kgs to 30kgs (together)
Shoulder press 10 kgs to 30 kgs
Deadlift 30 kgs 60 kgs
Shoulder flys 8 kgs 16 kgs
Crossovers 20 kgs 40kgs
face pulls 10 kgs to 20 kgs

Bike Riding

I bike to school (25 minutes) after school I bike to the gym (5 minutes), then I bike home (30 minutes). On the way home I take a little longer path but the time evens out due to not having to hit any lights. That ride home is straight cardio endurance and it made the insanity more insane.

Longest bike ride taken was from my city of Naju to Mokpo about five hours long.

Abs

I follow Jeff Cavaliere's Athlean-X program on youtube. He post a lot of helpful videos and I refer to him and his videos for my work outs. What I like best is his ab videos, just seven minutes and I am exhausted and burning.

The philosophy of his that I take to heart is, "If you workout hard, you don't have to workout long." So, when I hit the gym I play a music mix that is 40 minutes long and I go at it as hard as I can, then get out.


The two ab videos I have been using

Before riding my bike to work I would do about three minutes of hanging exercises including pull ups, leg lifts, and side crunches. I get to school, after my first two classes I have a break so I do one of Jeff's 7 minute ab exercises.

Nutrition

The biggest part of all this. It doesn't matter how much you ride bike or lift, if your diet is crap you can't lose weight or gain muscle.

So my breakfast is 2 eggs kimchi a banana with peanut butter and coffee.

During school I have an egg for a mid breakfast snack and another one a couple hours after lunch (school lunch is a grab bag).

After working out, half a protien shake. Then the second half after I do Insanity along with another peanut butter banana. (I also add a teaspoon of cinnamon to my shakes to help regulate my glucose levels)

Finally, dinner is a a couple hours after Insanity and I have a chicken breast with a cup or mixed veggies (bell pepper, zucchini, spring onion, garlic, pumpkin, spinach, and carrots).

  • I also take a multi vitamin in the morning along with fish oils and a B3 vitamin

So in the end I have consumed roughly

  • 216 eggs
  • 60 chicken breast
  • 147 bananas at least (some days were 3 to 4)
  • 4 kilos of peanut butter
  • 9 zucchinis
  • 18 carrots
  • 18 bell peppers
  • 36 cloves of garlic
  • 45 spring onions
  • 8 small pumpkins
  • 40.5 liters of milk
  • 7.19 kgs of isohd protein powder
  • God knows how much kimchi lol

20180519_092117.jpg

Results

Long story short I have never been in better shape. In raw numbers

  • Went from 82Kgs (180.7lbs.) to 76kgs (167.5lbs.)
  • Gone from borderline overweight, to borderline athletic in a bmi standing
  • My body fat is down to 15.4% not sure where I started though. However, it has to be down since I lost my beer belly ha
  • From the sports day recordings last week my inbody result is 85 which is also borderline athletic
  • I also nearly have a six-pack going on!

What this means

I never thought I could lose weight like this or lift weights like I can now! I've always been at least 170lbs since around the end of elementary. This was partly because my grandparents went to McDonald's everyday after school when I was little. Then, I did nothing but play video games as a kid.

Then, in high school I worked at McDonald's so that didn't help, then at 18 I started going from restraunt to restraunt so I tasted a lot of food. Not really good conditions to get in good shape when you work full-time and study full-time as well.

I got teased in elementary for being chubby and playing sports I was the last pick. I was also just awkward in general throughout high school and thought I could never be in good shape. When I studied in Korea I worked out for a semester and when I graduated uni I went to the gym. I had no idea what I was doing though and just used machines, also I bsed my diet a lot lol

Now though, I feel on top of my game and in undoubtedly the best shape of my life! It really has blown my mind that I could do this and have students look up to me for inspiration to their own workouts.

Also, in the whole year that I have gotten into exercise, I have not once taken an insta shot or some gym selfie. This is all for me. I feel proud saying that. 😁

For the Future

Now, that I finished insanity my new schedule will be do hanging exercises, ride bike to school, do ab workout at school, ride to the gym, do weight training, ride home, and do an ab workout at home. I also need to change up the exercises at the gym.

My new goals include get down to 13% body fat, 75 kgs, and learn how to back flip. Considering that I could manage what I have already, this is possible in my mind!

Wish me luck everyone!




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

DQmXf3NuiWNi6msKVT3qx7QYdaY9DerStDE6yqYp3pc2gmz.png

Sort:  

I wish you luck, you will have to have someone video you doing your back flip.

Yeah, right. Thanks, maybe I will do it for 1000 followers or something. Guess we will have to see what comes first lol

The followers will be coming. A lot of people talking about getting 10 or more robot followers on every post they put up. i don't know how long that will last, or how long they will stay following, but it is unlikely they will be saying much, but the number looks good. The number of followers really take off when you get to that 444 number for some reason.

I wish there was a way to block the bots so I can get an accurate number. Cause I notice that on Busy, I get a handful of new followers that have 25ish rep and they just resteem junk. Oh well, what can we do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67738.65
ETH 3810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74