Don't Worry About A Thing

in #life6 years ago

I'm usually more of a wallflower at parties. I like to observe people and keep to myself. It takes a lot for me to come out of my shell and be comfortable in a large group or an unfamiliar setting. But there I was on the dance floor of a jazz club in New Orleans dancing like I've never danced before. Stone cold sober, I might add. The minute I walked in, I felt the blare of the saxophone grab my chest. My feet were begging to move. My body already swaying to the rhythm. I had to dance. And so I did. It was unlike anything I've ever experienced. I have never so carelessly thrown my inhibitions to the wind. I have never danced like I didn't care what people thought when they saw me. The music, the energy, the moment was all I cared about. It was a transcendental experience.

Earlier that day, I entertained the idea of going home because we had bad luck with finding accommodations for us and our dog. On the third try, we found a win and decided to stay one more night to explore the town. We walked along Royal Street, French Quarters, went for a swim, and ate a proper creole dinner. After dinner, we walked along Frenchmen St. when our friends asked us to meet them at Vaso. That little jazz club with the soulful band indefinitely changed me.

I spent maybe 3 hours dancing until I was dripping sweat...During my reverie, I took a look around me. I saw my friends and strangers enjoying the music and living life to the fullest. I saw by-passers outside stop to peer into the fogged window with curiosity. Little smiles and shock would play across their face when they witnessed the raw joy and ecstasy happening on the dance floor. It was the most fun I've had. The band slowed the pace down with a beautiful rendition of Bob Marley's "Don't Worry, Be Happy". The crowd slowed down and I felt an intense feeling of gratefulness and happiness. I had bonded with these strangers through dance. We didn't know each other's names, sins, accomplishments, or anything. We just knew when life gives you music, you dance.

New Orleans taught me what it means to live life to the fullest. I've heard that cliche many times, but never understood what it meant or how it feels until I set foot into Vaso. It is one of my favorite memories and I cannot wait to visit again to make more.

Sort:  

nice tag line , you r right just chill nd listen the music hahah : )

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @moxieme! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94