Confessions from a Workaholic | Living the Dream While Working Too Much

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When I look around my life I see more responsibility than I've even held before. I'm manifesting a BIG dream with my partner, Wren, and am whole heartedly putting myself into it. All of me.

89E16D17-6FD8-489B-98E9-34798225AAEF.jpeg

But what am I losing in the process? Does taking on the adult responsibilities required of certain lifestyles mean I can't live in that childlike state anymore? Do I still give myself permission to play? Why have I become so serious?

As I woke up this morning I was reflecting on these thoughts. If you're familiar with our content, you'll know how much we love living our dream manifesting abundance through homesteading, permaculture, natural building and herbalism.

You've seen just how fired up we get about sharing the beauty of the Earth and how to live an Earth-centered life. But.... There are also days when the workload and unfinished projects weigh heavily and the burden of taking on so much responsibility bogs me down.

FC2A2B79-E428-4D19-BABE-995F3771DD2A.jpeg

Working towards dreams is fulfilling, but not always easy.

We got into this homesteading lifestyle knowing that it requires a lot of work, commitment and perseverance.

Most days are exciting, connected and diverse and we give thanks for being our own bosses and co-creating our life.

The dream and vision of creating a thriving human influenced ecosystem that overflows with abundance, demonstrates a healthy paradigm and reminds us of what is possible through allying with nature fuels our souls on a deep level.

EE70F683-5ABC-4458-8416-BB2AE8E5EC86.jpeg

We want to share the beauty and awe that we experience living with the land with others and support the human-earth connection. This never goes away, but sometimes other realities creep in. The never ending projects, the unexpected events, the maintenance, the scale and scope of homesteading and overwhelm all are a part of it.

This too is a part of living the dream!

Focus on Fun

Just as important as time management and prioritization is having FUN! We committed this year to More Fun, and I have been slacking in this department. Yes our life is fun, but we have realized that getting out of the regular routine of work on the homestead is crucial to our overall health and wellbeing as much as it is for productivity.

FB2E8664-C596-4B28-951B-40F1B1744CF6.jpeg

Permission to Let Go

Let go of expectation for a minute, let go of ideas, let go of patterns, let go of the lists...

We all have dreams and visions we're working towards, but need to keep in context the scope of this human experience.

66733210-C5D2-44A0-96D8-D426AE574740.jpeg

When we are striving for a goal, when do we let the reigns go slack? When do we surrender to rest and let things go?

I for one have been hyper driven to get the groundwork done on the homestead (which is a behemoth amount considering it was a raw piece of land) and have neglected the subtler nature of reality. I have been letting go a little lately and realized how tightly I have been clinging to productivity, achievements and expansion. But when I let go a little, I allow in thoughts, feelings and emotions that were waiting to be felt and witnessed.

Redefining Work

I have recently been appreciating the newly blooming roses Wren planted 2 years ago and through this have been reevaluating my relationship to work. Is appreciation of the fine things in life like roses work? What makes me believe that work is the most important thing? Our needs are met, no one is coming to take our land away and we are debt free. So what the heck am I working so hard for?

8740494B-1AB3-4C9D-99EE-CB7122A945A8.jpeg

These are the dreams and visions that Wren and I believe in; an abundant life that we are working towards. We're the ones creating this reality though and if our work stresses us out and is imbalanced, then we are not embodying the very core of why we sought a land based lifestyle. Work is important to all beings, although I hardly think birds relate to foraging the way we do to office jobs. Work must be done for survival, if not by us than by another on our behalf.

I have gotten trapped in a belief system that I have to keep working to get somewhere. That there's never enough.

I am redifining work to include recreation. Making the time to recreate can seem like work to me, but it is paramount for long terms success.

94E1A9FC-4D56-4D68-9A06-972FF1795A42.jpeg

Wren reminded me of the meaning behind the word to re-create:
To make make new again.

Websters defined recreation as:

Refreshment of strength and spirits after work.

C54A70BA-0F18-484B-BD60-A901FF78C0DC.jpeg

Somehow I had missed this in my definition of work. This seems painfully obvious, but in my drive I had blinded myself not only to the importance of recreation, but also to the need for including it into my ideas surrounding work.

Living the dream while working too much.

Overwork is an all too common experience for humans in a modern context.

With a capitalistic system that essentially requires participation to meet our basic needs of survival paired with an unjust culture of consumption, so many humans find themselves in that space of overwork.

9390B37E-1C3B-439A-9BEB-103A7AACFFBF.jpeg

No matter what dream we are working toward there must be time for refreshing the body and spirits. There may be some larger humanitarian dreams that are worth getting way out of balance for (perhaps in an effort to correct that severe imbalance that exists in the world), but even in those examples hitting the refresh button can be useful.

In what ways do you like the re-create your life while living out your dreams?

Today we are taking some adventure time to get out onto a new patch of land with loved ones and explore movement landscapes unknown to us. Taking time to listen to the birds' songs and give thanks for the the elements of Earth, Air, Fire and Water. To me, having the ability to reflect upon my life and change direction at times toward a healthier balance is such a blessing! Thanks for reading.

mountainjewelbanner.jpg
banner by @radicalunicorn

Sort:  

I think you can be more productive when you also have fun along with working for your goals. One should enjoy the present moments to the fullest without thinking too much about the future.

Yes, fun is important. Thanks for reminding me to be more present.

Life is all about balance, trying to find that balance can take time, especially when our lifestyles are demanding and we have a lot responsibilities, be gentle with yourself, make time to sing and play that ukelele, even just 10-15 minutes a day have time to be creative, the best thing I have done lately in that regard was to sign up to the poetry challenge, because that way I make sure to have time to sit and write outside everyday. Just start taking time and the rest will flow xxx

Great reflections. It does take time, thanks for the reminder to be gentle. It's wild how to achieve a goal sometimes the opposite results are a byproduct of imbalanced actions. Glad you're finding juice in the ukulele and poetry. Certainly creating on this mandolin has fed me. Thanks for commenting.

I agree that balance is important. It's what you focus on. You can work really hard for something you want but you'll then be working hard for the next thing. So it's important to sit and appreciate the fruits of your labour too and take time out to recharge or you'll burn out.

It's important to find joy in the work you do.

A lovely post. I love what you are creating with such togetherness.

YES! We've for sure been on the edge of burnout but have since learned how much that sucks. Smelling roses and witnessing blooms And bees is healing and recharging.

We both find deep joy in the work we do, but that only goes so far until a reset is needed. Thanks for sharing.

Great post. I am of two minds in my reaction. One, the need to have fun is not always what society makes it out to be. Many of us are so driven by our passion for "work" that work becomes where we find our "fun". That is not always bad. But the need to "re-create" is real. Set aside a day - as many religions do - or at least some time for NOT work. Reflection, time with friends, time spent on the relationships that are important to you. Wonderful post - it got me thinking about my own life. Thanks

So true, fun is so subjective. And YES! there is a lot to be said for anything that's not work. Thanks for responding, and happy to provoke thought.

Beautiful roses.

Yes, taking time to enjoy life, to play and fool around, is as important as getting the work done.

Ya, being silly and laughing is so rewarding, even while working. And the roses are a great respite.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Your post came just at the right time. Thank you. Even if I feel the burnout, I can't stop my mind to feel guilty for not getting things done as fast as I need.

Do something you love and you never have to work again. But work can have so many aspects, and even the things you love will require a certain set of attention, effort, time, dedication, etc. to do it well, making it worthwhile. On the other hand, sometimes we need distraction, spontaneity, and a chance to just receive and enjoy things. A moment to step back and appreciate the result of our love-work. Or, as you hinted so fittingly: take time to smell the roses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95