Get to Know @mogardengirlsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

@mogardengirl Bio

Greetings Steemians! Once again, my plans have gone a bit awry, and I wasn't able to post yesterday as intended. You see, I have fibromyalgia, and yesterday was a really bad pain day for me. Really bad. Like high enough pain levels that I was vomiting, bad. Since I'm still not feeling super great today, my brain isn't really functioning quite properly. So I decided to do a post giving a bit more info about me, since it shouldn't really require too much brain power to do. And I figured since I haven't actually posted any pics of myself, this would be a good time to do so (and play with the collage maker website I came across a couple days ago).

The Basics

I'm 36 years old and have two college degrees; a BS in environmental plant science horticulture (science emphasis) obtained in 2015, and an AAS in medical lab technology obtained in 2007. I have approximately 8 years experience working in landscape maintenance, and about two years experience doing organic gardening. I am currently employed at a private estate where I manage a large garden and two greenhouses. This is my third year there, my second year in charge of the garden and greenhouses.

This is me:

Collage Pics of Me - Copy.jpg

I was born in Missouri, but was raised in small town Arkansas on a 38 acre farm. We were basically a homesteading family for quite a few years. We raised and butchered a lot of our own meat and grew a lot of our own produce. I hated it growing up. It was a ton of work. Imagine my surprise when I discovered in my late 20s that I actually love working with plants and having a physically active job. The light to moderate exercise is actually better for my fibro than a desk job would be. So it's something of a win-win for me. I get paid to do something I love doing and it makes me feel better physically.

I moved back to Missouri about 6 years ago to pursue my Bachelors degree, and I love it here. One of the best decisions I ever made. I was bitterly unhappy in Arkansas and didn't even realize it until I moved. After graduating from college I ended up moving back in with my mother where I currently still live. I am single and don't have kids, and don't date much at all, so I have a hard time justifying paying to maintain a separate residence just for me.

Books

I've mentioned before that I'm an avid reader. My favorite genre is urban fiction. Favorite authors include Karen Chance, Kim Harrison, and Seanan McGuire. Here's a pic of part of my book collection.

20141027_142733 - Copy.jpg

The books are actually three layers deep on the shelves, so there are a lot more of them there than you can actually see. If you're into urban fiction and need some suggestions, just ask. I can probably recommend an author that you haven't read yet lol

Music

I was a teenager in the 90's, so I have a fondness for 90's music. I actually was big into country music until around '93 or '94 when I went to my first concert. Nine Inch Nails. I was the tag a long little sister who got invited by my brother's friends. So glad I went. Changed my taste in music for forever.

Some of the concerts I've been to include: Pantera, Type O Negative, The Melvins, White Zombie, Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, Ozzy, Ozzfest, Chevelle, Breaking Benjamin, POD, Puddle of Mud, Five Finger Death Punch, In This Moment, Blue Oyster Cult, Alice Cooper, The Scorpions, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Poison, The Black Crowes, Devour the Day, Starset, Korn, Cypress Hill, Linkin Park, etc. I've been to a lot of shows over the years lol My first pit and crowd surfing experience was at White Zombie on their Astro Creep 2000 tour in Little Rock, AR. Of course a lot of those were back before we had camera phones. Heck, cell phones weren't even a thing yet. I do have pictures of some of the more recent shows I've been too though.

Chevelle

IMG_0144 - Copy.JPG

Smile Empty Soul

IMG_0338 - Copy.JPG

Hurt

IMG_0350 - Copy.JPG

In This Moment

IMAG0043 - Copy.jpg

Gaming

I actually love playing video games. I'm more casual gamer than hardcore gamer though. My favorites tend to be MMORPGs. I don't get to play as much now as I used to but when I do I'm generally playing Neverwinter Online or Guild Wars 2. I have a fondness for multiplayer cooperative games, always have had. I tend to play caster classes, either DPS or Heals. I'm awful with melee classes, my brain just can't process what is going on that quickly. Which is probably why I suck at shooters as well lol

Hope you all have enjoyed getting to know me a little bit better. My fibro brain fog stuff is starting to really kick so I'm going to go ahead and end this here. I have exhausted my mental spoons for the day lol Hopefully I'll be able to find some time to post during the week this week. If not, I will make time to do some upvoting, commenting, and resteeming.

If you want to know more about me, you can see my introduceyourself post here

If you're interested in my most recent garden update, you can find it here

If you liked this post please consider upvoting, following, and resteeming. As always, if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions, please leave them below.

Until next time

signature.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63