My Bucket (30) List - 30 things to do before 30...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Good evening Steemians!

So this post follows on from my last post, which if you want to read it can be found here: https://steemit.com/writing/@modern-man/diary-of-a-modern-man-entry-8

If not TL;DR is that I'm having what you could consider a bit of a mid-life (early 20s) crisis. I have never bothered to plan anything at all, including my life. Now after speaking to someone with a full life-plan I'm getting nervous! I truly fear of looking back on my life in years to come and being disappointed with what I've accomplished.

Now I don't want to offend anyone over 30 out there, I am well aware that life doesn't end at 30! But you never know, it might do. Any of us could drop dead at a moments notice!

As you can see my melancholic vibe hasn't left me yet, but I'm being serious. I've always resented the idea of putting money into a pension fund purely because who knows what will happen?! If we put our dreams in a pension pot we could die before we get chance to live them. So in that vein I started writing a list of 30 things I want to accomplish by the time I get to 30.

This turned out to be a lot harder than I thought so here is the first half. I'm going to finish this and post the second half tomorrow!

  • Visit New York again.
    Mike and I went on a trip to NYC when we were at school. We were about 14 at the time and it's kind of what made our friendship blossom. Additionally, to anyone growing up watching Friends NYC is the dream!

  • Find the love of my life.
    I don't really feel like this one needs much explaining if I'm honest!

  • Go sky diving.
    I've never been much of an adrenaline junkie. I saved up to buy myself a bmx when I was in college (16 here in the UK). I had ambitions of doing all sorts of cool stunts, but I never could get over my fear of falling off. Just once in my life I want to do something that is scary!

  • Ride a motorcycle.
    Kind of the same as above tbh

  • Perform live music.
    A few years ago I taught myself to play the guitar. I'm bang average don't get me wrong. I know that a gig is beyond me, but I would love to have done at least an open mic night once in my life.

  • Run a marathon.
    In the past I've done a half-marathon with surprisingly little training which has always lead me to think a marathon would be easy. Of course, I know it's not, but I want to find out how difficult it is!

  • Complete an eating contest.
    #yolo right?

  • Get in a fight.
    Again, this is kind of similar to 3 and 4.

  • Live abroad.
    There's something about complete self-sufficiency that I find really admirable.

  • Finish writing a book.
    I have always wanted to write a book. My mother got me into reading when I was a child; like, I think I was reading before I was walking! As a result I've had a fascination with books and I'd love to write one.

  • Pull a hot girl at a bar.
    This is strange one I'm not going to lie. With absolute humility I have a decent track record with girls, but this largely comes from situations involving long conversation. I guess every guy has the dream of successfully using 'grab your coat, you've pulled'!

  • Get a good body.
    Pretty self explanatory. As we get older health becomes more important. I want to enter my 30s in good shape for a long life!

  • Witness something majestic.
    Okay, so I may have been scraping the barrel at this point, but it sounds noble right?

  • Do something truly courageous.
    Same lines as above.

  • Good collection of books.
    Like I said, reading has always been a huge part of my life.

That's the first half of my list, what do you all think?

I'm going to get the rest finished tonight and posted tomorrow. In the mean time regardless of your age, what are the things you want to achieve in the next 10 years of your life?


Thanks for reading, any comments, questions, or advice comment below! Or head over to @modern-man to follow me and check out the rest of my series

MM actual.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42