Values are relative-Clash of civilizations

in #life6 years ago

According to most of the scholars around the globe, there is a clash of civilizations going on between the West and the Islamic world. Some extremist elements on both sides are pouring oil on the fire, which has led to doubts and misconceptions about each other.

ethics-2110590_960_720.jpg
Image Source: https://pixabay.com/

Now let’s come to the point that what a common Muslim thinks about this clash of civilizations. I am a very conservative Muslim being raised in a very religious Pashtun society. My experience and interaction with people from the Western society tell me that in order to diffuse the situation and to reach a certain middle point we have to accept the reality that we cannot force our values on each other. The Western world cannot change Muslim minds by installing puppet regimes and in the same manner, the Muslim world cannot force anyone to follow their Sharia law or any other law that they think is better.

We have to keep in mind that values are always relative. Anything which is considered good in one society has totally opposite meanings in another society and vice versa. Let’s take a very funny example of how the same words can have different interpretations of West and the East. Supposedly, you told a Westerner that he is looking like a teddy bear or a little puppy. I am sure he would take it as a compliment or at least consider them to be funny. Now if you say the same words to someone from an Eastern society and especially from the Islamic world, the reaction could be very offensive because it is considered an abuse here.The very same thing can be said about serious issues like the role of religion in the state, gender roles, level of individual freedom, morals, and ethics.

The Western intelligentsia believes that religion is a private matter and has nothing to do with the affairs of the state whereas the Muslim world believes that Islam provides a complete guide for all aspects of life and hence could become the basis for any state setting.

The Western world believes that men and women are equal with no difference between them and hence be allowed to mix together in congregations and other places whereas the Islamic world believes that though both are equal yet their duties are different depending upon their physical health. The Muslims would quote that the first wife of the Prophet of Islam was also a successful entrepreneur of her time but she was living her life under Pardah.
The opinions of Western and Muslim scholars definitely collide on the issue of the level of freedom one should have. The Western world believes that every person has the right to do or say whatever he/she wants without physically hurting anyone whereas the Muslim world believes any criticism which leads towards hurting others’ feelings should not be allowed. This difference of opinion was quite visible during the Charlie Hebdo incident in which the feelings of the billions of Muslims were hurt.

The above discussion can be extended to infinity but I would finish here because I don’t have enough time to discuss each and every aspect of the gap that needs to be bridged. My suggestion and conclusion would be to let’s agree to the disagree and respect each other religious, cultural and political ideals. Lots of love.

Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

0.100 for a single resteem?

Values are different in different places. But does that mean that they are relative - in the sense that they are actually right or wrong depending on context?

Thank you so much for commenting, sir. I guess it depends on the interpretation.

Yes, this could go on for infinity and in fact, it does go on since written history, I guess.

To make myself transparent: I am all for consensus and for speaking without hurting. I am a woman, I am raised as a Christian. Became for a while an atheist, made myself on the search what else is out there. I study Buddhism now for quite a while. I have some questions which I would like you to answer.

My first one is how death is handled where you live. Do you practice your traditions? In which exact way? Do people at your place mostly die in hospitals or at home?

How does your culture handle birth? Do women give birth in hospitals, in special birth houses or at home, mostly?

As I find it very rare to speak to people from a foreign background I really would appreciate your infos. I am deeply interested in what you have to say.

... The differences between men and women I see and from what I find both are having their skills and abilities to contribute to the many. If one of the sexes lacks their freedom of expression, action, contribution this often means suffering for the many, as well.

Thank you.

I am a Muslim and we bury our death after special prayer ceremonies. We practice a lot of traditions which I can summarize in a single post. I have already written an article in which I have summarised some of our traditions.

Thanks. Where can I find it? Can you give me a link? Does it answer the questions I have? Please, if you don't want to respond to me, just say it. I have sincere intentions though.

It is my pleasure to tell you about my culture, mam. Let me summarize my answers.

  1. The first thing you asked is how death is handled where we live? The answer is the dead body is brought home and kept there for 5-6 hours for the closed ones to see him/her for the last time. The dead boy is then washed and sprayed with perfumes and taken to a prayer hall where prayers are offered and the body is buried afterwards.
  2. The women are mostly taken to hospitals before birth so that are no complications when they are giving birth to kids. The females doctors present there handle the process.
    The below of one of my article will also provide you a lot of insight into our culture and traditions.
    https://steemit.com/life/@mmasim/tribalogy-part-1-pashtun-tribe

Thank you very much. I'll read it and will take some time to it.

Sure, mam. Thanks for being on my blog. Always my pleasure.

The Comment

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 161!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Thank you so much@thethirdeye. I definitely gonna look at it and will participate in his projects. Lots of love for motivation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95