My thirst for knowledge is what drives me

in #life8 years ago

Time to crack open the books! Just like my kids, I started school today as the fall semester (only my second) officially began for my MBA program. Unfortunately for me, an immediate sense of dread took over and I thought to myself “What did I get myself into?” You see, I have a full time job, two young girls aged 3&5 who are both enrolled in gymnastics, I like to keep myself active by participating in sports and I am attempting to make a go out of writing for Seeking Alpha and Steemit. It’s not like I don’t have a busy life already and now I am adding not one, but two Masters level courses: Strategic Management and Ethical Leadership.


This is me...and pretty much how i felt!

I took one look at the course outlines and I almost had a panic attack. How will I ever get this done? It seemed nearly impossible. Then the afternoon rolled over and I started to look at the courses more closely and I started to remember why I was doing this. I am doing this for myself, to satisfy my thirst for knowledge and to help make me a more effective leader. I am doing this because I want to be doing this. Suddenly, my whole demeanor changed, a sense of excitement came over me as I started to read the course material.

Sitting down in front of my computer tonight, my kids tucked away in bed after a long day, I suddenly made the connection between my Masters, my writing for Seeking Alpha and my posts on Steemit. I am driven by my thirst for knowledge. One of the reasons I love Steemit is because I have read so many interesting posts and have learnt many new things. I’ve gained cultural education, seen some beautiful and inspiring photographs and have engaged in some great conversations with other “steemians”. The parallel to my Masters is almost identical in that I learn and engage with other students of different cultures.

It all comes back to my growth as an individual. I hope to be able to share my knowledge with others and be a more productive member of society. Sharing stories and engaging in conversation with others is exhilarating and I truly hope that you find my posts, not only interesting, but of value.

Any of you have similar workloads where you feel as though you’ve taken on too much? How have you dealt with it? Any tips and strategies to share? Please engage in conversation in the comments below.

Please upvote and follow!! #steemsquad #minnowsunite

Books picture was acquired from www.freeimages.com

Sort:  

I wish you all best and don't forget : you can do anything as long as you are passionate about it !

Absolutely. One of the greatest challenges is reminding oneself of precisely that!

Hello @mlialen, I just stopped by to let you know that I included this post in my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble today. I'd say we have some concepts in common... wanting to always be learning The post can be found here

That is great...thanks for the recognition!!!

thanks for sharing this material, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

Glad you enjoyed it!!

Awesome! I'm also a knowledge seeker and Steemit is the right platform to express it! Keep up the work

Thanks! And i agree, it is a great platform for acquiring and sharing knowledge.

I've read several of your posts and you write very well. I don't know why that surprises me but in any case, do you have a journalism or writing background? I really enjoyed your post on Russia and sent the link to a Russian-born colleague who used to be an avid cross-country skier back home.

Thank you very much for the kind words and for sharing my post! Although never a journalist, I have spent a good chunk of my career in media relations writing news releases, biographies, news briefs, etc. So I essentially 'fed' the journalists stories.

Ah, I too used to work in media relations--as a copywriter and later, as a political campaign writer. I used my writing skills for evil. :)

I know the feeling, when everything seems overwhelming, and you just crash down and think "i can't handle all of this". But you did exactly the right thing. Contemplate why you are doing it. Then break the overwhelming task down into small bits, and everything will be easier :). Great post :3

Thanks for reading!! I think sometimes people get so bogged down that they forget why they are doing things and what they really want in life. Unfortunately, when you lose sight of this, its a recipe for misery.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04