Is Insomnia hereditary?

in #life8 years ago

It's a question that's been on my mind alot of late.
You see I don't sleep..much.
I regularly get by on just 3 - 5 hours a night for weeks on end.
I'll occasionally have a couple of what I call 'crash days' where I'll sleep closer to the conventional 8 hours.
On those days I usually feel worse than on my non-sleep days.

The thing is though my sister is also an insomniac and so, until a few years ago, was my Dad.
Are there others who have insomniac families or is my own a rarity?

I joke with people that were descended from vampires. ;-)
Well...at least I HOPE it's a joke....though I do love my rare steaks ;-)

Sort:  

Hey Mike, I'm right there with you for sure. Similar hours and schedule with similar crash days (as well as feeling worse on the days you actually sleep like a "regular" person).

My mother also had insomnia that started around the same time mine did, got worse up to her 40s, and now she's on a seemingly regular schedule now that she's in her 60s. My brother and father are seemingly unaffected by it.

I hate it. I feel your pain in all ways.

However, I like your conceptual theory of vampiric decention...might steal that one from ya. :)

At least I haven't started fight club....yet. ;-)

It's a weird 'condition' my Daughter seems to be developing it also, though still loves her bed. Which is an interesting conflict.

I've tried to do the going to bed at a 'regular' time. Can never stay there though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37