Five minute free write- ski

in #life6 years ago

snowboarding.jpg

Another day, another Five minute free write

Hosted by the amazing @mariannewest. I have to admit, when I first saw today's focus, ski, I was kind of at a loss of what to write about. I'm a snowboarder and skiers aren't exactly my best of friends. Many a times I've been out snowboarding only to come across the moguls they made with their back-and-forth. That kind of stuff kinda kills a hill for a snowboarder. You can ride them, but man is it rough.

Also, it really freaks me out to have my feet independently moving with long sticks on them heading down a hill at high speeds. Not sure why I feel comfortable being strapped into a board...but I do.

So I had to sit for a minute and think

How could I relate? And I hit on something. I wish I had like 3 more minutes to finish off the point I was going to try and drive home, but I guess this way it leaves it open-ended for people to hate me again, lol. Why I went this route I'll explain after.

So, without further ado, written on the blasted [Most dangerous writing app](http://www.themostdangerouswritingapp.com/)


The room felt old.

Creme colored pieces of rough fabric covered the windows. Bits of light crept through to spotlight the thin air of dust. The soft click, click of a tall, wooden timepiece resting on a table.

The man sat in the corner. Thinking. Leather scrunched under his shifting weight. His eyes followed the specks as they gently shifted around the room.

A deep breath, settling further into the well worn browns and reds. It was so quiet. Each moment seemed to creep by. Thoughts, like stock tickers seemed to flick across the backs of his eyes.

Tick, tick. Another deep breath. Eyelids slowly folding closed.

The glittering white was brilliant.

Wind whipped at his face. His scarf no protection against the biting shards that hid in the whiplike wind.

In front of him, a drop into nothingness. His hands held tight to the poles. His feet slid back in forth in the tracks. Heart pumping he looked up. Blazing blue streaked with gray.


I headed this direction because

I haven't had the opportunity to snowboard for almost 8 years now. Which really sucks, because when I lived in Japan I went 5 or 6 times a season. Riding up and down all day just having a blast. I might not be an old man yet, but in some ways I feel like it. Sitting in the corner remember those 'glory day's of riding the slopes. My life isn't over, so I may yet find myself on that brilliant white under the blazing blue :)

I hope you enjoyed this piece. As always, I'd love to hear your thoughts :)
Michael

Sort:  

I had to read the story a second time to realize that the man was remembering himself skiing in his younger years. Reading your conclusion helped put things into perspective.

I headed this direction because...

Here is my response to today's prompt:


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-113-ski


Let me know what you think =)

Hehe, yeah. Ran out of time and refused to cheat :) That's why I brought it together in the post instead of leaving people hanging...again, lol.

I felt old once also, man I wish that I could feel that good again lol. 😉

your descriptive words are a wonder to read!! Great Freewrite!!!

awww, thanks :) my old business partner used to give me crap about that. we ran a print magazine...apparently the more words you write the more ink and space you use...which costs money. no room to stretch out and have fun with it. but here...muwhahaha

funny. I use to work in the printing industry. Flexo printing (plastic packaging) I worked in the Stripping Department and then was one of the first Strippers to learn how to use computers for my job. I miss working on a light table all day. It was always a blast. I was the only 'girl' in my department they became like brothers to me. Brings back good memories :D

and now that job is obsolete. which is sad because most don't know why they are doing something now when they make negatives and Strip jobs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stripping_(printing)

Very nice and descriptive, I do hope you get on the snow soon 💚

Me too. Got other things higher on my list. Like traveling again. Been too long.

Wow :) You got a good thing going with that one. No easy feat to manifest that much in such a short time; well done :)

With practice it will be better! :)

Of this I have no doubt :)

So it is true then. There is a war between skiers and snowboarders. :-D

Usually a Cold War. snicker

Hehehe. That gave me a chuckle.

it's never too late for a great snowboard ride! Very few things give such a sense of freedom like surfing the snow in the nature :-) Thanks for this vivid freewrite!

Welcome to the weekend freewrite banquet! Another seven days have passed in a blink and every day we grow stronger thanks to the energy of our limitless creativity! But let’s just cut to the chase, here is the menu that our master chef @mariannewest has expertly prepared for us:
Delicatessen #1 – Single prompt option
Delicatessen #2 – Weekend freewrite in three parts: 1- 2 - 3

Yeah, I miss it...a lot. Thanks for dropping by and reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46