You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The eternal heartache of a distant dad

in #life6 years ago

Man.... what can be said here that hasn't already been said. All the feels in this post.

My son is 10 and is the center of my world. Without him, I don't know what I would be.

I'm a child of divorce myself. My parents split amicably, and had joint custody. So there was never any real separation from one or the other. In fact, both of my parents, and my step-parents have gathered together for special occasions through the years. We share a meal together, a birthday party, a special moment for a grand child, all are places that you will find "all four of my parents".

I hope never to be in your shoes. I know how impossible the decision to leave must have been. I can put myself in that scenario, and honestly, I don't think I could do what you did. My son is as necessary to me as food and water. That's my weakness, and your strength.

I truly hope that you have the opportunity to strengthen the bond with your daughter this weekend. The teens are coming up, and are a very special time to be involved in a child's life.

All the best Asher! I really hope this journey brings you closeness and comfort. You deserve it!

Sort:  

Thanks Mike

We share a meal together, a birthday party, a special moment for a grand child, all are places that you will find "all four of my parents".

This must be pretty cool, double parents should = a more well-rounded child - at least that's where Aldus Huxley's thinking was in 'Island'.

I guess you could never know how you'd react, until being in the shoes. It was one of the most difficult decisions of my life for sure, and as you can tell, one I'm still living in doubt with - even though the immediate effect was improved health.

Thanks for the words of encouragement, I cant wait to see her comment on how much she's grown :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65