This series of stories will be titled 'I'm surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood ...' 22

in #life7 years ago

I enjoy the company of others, just as most people do. I’m also ok on my own too – I have to be as a writer.

I always was able to amuse myself all on my own – by ‘amuse’ I mean get myself into trouble…

Down Sherwood Street, right at the bottom, just before the railway cutting, there were a number of fields. Sometimes horses and ponies lived there and that was always a massive draw to me.

Sherwood Street was made up of mostly terraced houses, with one large house at the bottom of the street with a big back garden but in need of repair.

When I was 18 I kept my own horse there for a time.

This story happened before I was 18 – a long time before then.

The first field you came to at the bottom of Sherwood Street was a field with a steep slope and a stream at the bottom of the slope. The area around it became boggy quickly and wasn’t fun to play in.

Keeping to the top of the slope, the next field along opened out into what we called ‘humps and hollows’. In our dialect, that sounds more like ‘umps an’ ollars’.

Exploring those dips and rises, speculating on the cause of them was always fun. Some of the dips were big enough to hide in, some were big enough to hide us all.

Top left corner, you can see the dimples of some of the dips.

Paths and tracks couldn’t go straight because of the terrain but kids didn’t need to bother with tracks or paths. The fastest way to the pond beyond the field was straight over – up and down, through long grass and over short.

The pond, in spring teemed with frogs and frogspawn and, of course, tadpoles.

I can’t remember a year when I didn’t take some of the little creatures home with me to watch them grow, either in an old, discarded fish tank or in the little fibreglass pond we had.

Sometimes I’d catch tadpoles, but mostly, a handful of frogspawn made its way to my house.

I remember a story I read at school. The lad was dared to fill his wellyboots with frogspawn and walk in the squelchy mess.

That story fascinated, yet horrified me. What happened to the tadpoles in that frogspawn? Surely it must have hurt them?

Beyond the pond, a massive mound stood. It had been there for as long as I remember but we never played on it, it was too dangerous (even for me).

Sticky, clinging mud lay on the top of that mound, even in hot summers it was damp and sticky up there. If ever it dried out, the first drop of rain replenished it immediately. I suppose it could have been a spring or more likely, a burst pipe.

One day, I wandered down to the field and I was playing in the pond. Now don’t get me wrong, this was no idyllic willow-framed oasis, the pond was a filthy dumping ground for mattresses, car parts etc and it was slowly rusting down into the mud at the bottom.

The standing dare was to make it across to the clump of trees in the middle. Not many made it across there and the results were usually a thrashing from mum for getting so wet and filthy.

I was playing on the edges of the pond when I heard, “Help us!”

I looked around but saw no one.

“Help! Help us!”

I stood up and still couldn’t see who needed help.

The plea sounded like a couple of kids younger than myself.

I looked around some more and listened for the call again.

It was coming from right at the top of the mound.

Two little kids had decided to play on top of the mound and had become stuck in the mud.

I clambered to the top of the mound, keeping to the perimeter. Two little boys, quite a lot younger than me, both stuck.

What did I do? Did I run and fetch help?

Nope, they were only little, I was strong, I knew I could pull them both out.

I pulled ONE out. But then I was stuck.

My wellyboots sank into the mud faster than theirs did because I was heavier.

I got the smallest kid free and made him stand on the edge of the mound, where he was safe.

Trying to grab the other kid, I couldn’t reach him and my boot was stuck. If I’d pulled my foot out, I would lose my boot. So, I did what I should have done in the first place, I sent the little kid to go and fetch help.

The kid was frightened to go back home alone; they had just moved there and he wasn’t sure he knew the way. Luckily, they lived on Sherwood Street and he only had to remember the number of the house.

He didn’t like going past the big house at the bottom and it would appear his older brother had just about forced him to go past it on their way in.

The little kid had clambered down the mound and was just off up the field when it started raining.

So, there we were, on top of a mound of mud, with rain coming down on us. We were getting wetter and colder by the minute. The kid was crying and knew he’d be in so much trouble.

“Don’t worry, kid, your brother has gone to fetch help, we’ll be rescued soon.”

Not exactly ‘soon’, but rescue did arrive. The kids’ mother ran down the field with a spade in her hand. She managed to dig out her kid and sent him off up home. Then (thankfully) she prised me out of the mud – which had, by that time, gone up past my knees. She dug out my wellyboots too – bonus!

We all wended our cold, soaked-to-the-skin selves off up the field to her house, where she dried her kids, thanked me for trying to save the boys and gave me dry jeans to wear home.

What would have happened if I hadn’t been there that day?

The boys would certainly have been soaked to the skin. They would have been there a lot longer than they were.

No one passed us in the time we were there and it was starting to get dark by the time she freed us both.

By the time she missed the boys, it would have been dark. Getting help to look for them would have taken time. Hypothermia was a very real possibility.

They might have died.

Was I a hero? No. I was stupid and I was lucky.

I should have gone to fetch help, not get myself into danger.

Life lessons…

Sort:  

What I like about this story is how timing and fate plays a part in everyone's lives. Like you said, would they have been okay if you weren't there to save them? If you went outside to play an hour later, would you have still heard them call out? And if you did hear them, would they have been incredibly sick or hurt by the time you got to them? Or if you decided not to go out and play that day, how different would those boys' lives been, and their family's?

I'm a big supporter of fate and the term "it's meant to be" so this was a great read for me. You write very well and create a great picture with your words. Also, the world needs more people like you - very brave. Well done.

Sorry I didn't respond earlier, I must have missed your reply.

Because the weather was so cold and damp, plus the fact that no one passed us, I do think those boys would have been in a poor state by the time they were found.

It was certainly fortunate for them that I was there. It could have ended tragically.

Thank you for your kind words with regards to my writing. It's taken a while, but I think I'm now realising how fortunate I am to have this gift.

Bravery or foolishness? I could have saved me a lot of discomfort if I had just run for help and then gone home ;)

No story in that though... is there? :)

Hello Mitchell. In this situation I will disagree with you when used the word stupid. You not at all because you are only been human. The fact that you feel you are much more older than those kids could have been the reason why you went straight into the mud to save them. Is just the normal human instinct of someone that wants to save a life from danger. For you to start thinking for too long in that situation is somehow(little delay might be dangerous). SAVE THOSE KIDS is the only thing you are hearing at that moment.
Truly you are an hero to have saved them from the mud. All you did was to remove one of the boys and replace yourself with him in order for him to get help (in my own opinion). Thank God you showed up at that moment because it wouldn't have been a bad story but is not.
Lesson learnt from this story is that anytime you are in fix always make sure you don't allow the situation to override your thinking but take charge of the situation by taken the right step. Michelle I salute your courage for that life saving act.

For this heroic act I will be given you my friendship upvote (lol). You are a life saver.
I still remain your number one fan @optimistdehinde.

Ahh thank you so much for putting a different perspective on this story for me.

That you saw me replacing the small boy by pulling him out and sending him off made me smile.

The lesson I should learn from this is exactly as you say:

Lesson learnt from this story is that anytime you are in fix always make sure you don't allow the situation to override your thinking but take charge of the situation by taken the right step.

Thank you for always writing. I am also learning from you. True confession from me.

This is a good read , good that all went well, upped.

your welcome my friend😊😊

Thank you for sharing :)

Thank you for reading :)

this post is very good @michelle.gent
thank you for sharing

Thank you for your kind comments :)

thank again @michelle.gent
I am amazed at you, because you always get upvote from @blocktrades
when I can be like you, I also see my friends from Indonesia who got upvote from him, but sometimes they are still new users than me, and my post was just like them, I became discouraged in steemit to see such circumstances this, apparently in steemit, does not require a post that is too exciting, just takes luck only. Like my friends.

Great to read about the times when children actually played outside and life was more than just computers, phones and electronics!

It would have been hard to have just walked away and left the boys, even to get help. I think most people would have wanted to help save them in the moment. Kind of a gut reaction and common sense kicks in later, possibly when it's too late!

Great you were all safely rescued and here to share the story.

I'm glad it ended well too! I don't recall how long they'd been there but I know they were all-but exhausted.

Hi @michelle.gent, Reading your post has become a daily routine for me. It's just like waiting for the next episode of a season on tv. Now I have to wait for the next episode. Will read this one as soon as I'm done with my daily tasks. Keep posting. Resteemed.

Well thank you. That's a great compliment and I appreciate it.

Horrible experience. Glad you survived. Upvoted and followed.

Yes, it was and so am I ;)

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50