You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing With Writer's Block

in #life7 years ago

Hey, I'm here because of your invite and I don't usually do that.

I read your post and I have a little advice.

The first part of your article has a few places where there seems to be an error with the formatting or copy paste has slipped as you were creating the post.

I always write my posts in Word and paste it to Steemit.com. That serves two-fold. You still have the article if something goes wrong and I find it easier to check my work once I've finished.

You mention that my stories are on the Trending page... yes they are, but they weren't... for a long time. I've built up my following, and as we've all grown, so has the influence we have and therefore, their voting power, leading to my articles hitting the Trending pages.

Then, other people start to notice and the snowball effect starts to work.

I've been here since August 2016 and post every day.

Sometimes there was little (no) reward, but I didn't come here for the payout. I came for the fact that even if I got one or two cents, it was still more than I got on other social media.

The feedback is what I value and you're getting lots of that.

Edit your posts, polish your work and make it perfect and I don't think you'll be long before you hit the Trending pages too.

Sort:  

Thank you for a great comment I really appreciate it! :D
I really do, I can see that it took some time to write this comment!
I will be happy if you could tell me what "errors with the formatting" you see and I will fix it, I'm having some trouble understanding what you meant.

Also, thank you for the information and the support! I will make sure to read it again to absorb all the information ^^

We were all dealing with writer's block or creative block before, this is frustrating, you try to write but the word won't come out, you try to think but the brain is stuck in the same loop. It is known that many famous writers dealt with it before, George R. R. Martin, Stephen King and Harper Lee faced are just a few examples of people who faced it before.
whether you write stories, poems, articles, music or even jokes I believe that you happen to face this problem. But like any problem, the first step is to acknowledge that something is wrong, only then you can find ways to solve it.

I would have written it like this:

We all deal with writer's block or creative block, this is frustrating, you try to write but the words won't come out. You try to think but the brain is stuck in the same loop. It is known that many famous writers deal with it too: George R. R. Martin, Stephen King and Harper Lee are just a few examples of people who faced it.
Whether you write stories, poems, articles, music or even jokes, I believe that you will probably face this problem at some point. But like any problem, the first step is to acknowledge that something is wrong, only then you can find ways to solve it.

That's awesome, thank you!
The truth is I'm still new to writing (English) so I have some problems with punctuation (and more haha).
I will edit it right away :D

You're most welcome and I congratulate you on your English skills to date. Very well done, you write well, especially since English is not your first language.

Thank you, English is my third language and I promise that I will work on improving :P

Even better!

My only language skills are English, Sarcasm and gibberish ;)

Three of the most important skills! HAHA 😂
I will check more of your post as part of my attempts to improve 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76