My fire – a morning chore that’s not such a chore.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

How I make the fire every morning (when it’s cold of course).

Now the colder weather is drawing upon us, I light a fire every morning. I hunker down in the main room of the house and write, – either on my computer or longhand – I crochet, or, on the less frequent occasions these days, peruse Facebook. Because of the fire in the multi-fuel stove, the room is toasty all day, whatever the temperature is in rest of the house.

When I was a child we had a coal fire. My grandmother had a coal fire and one of my aunts had one. I learned how to start a fire quite early on. That came in handy when we moved into our own house. Hubby was a miner and therefore could get free coal from the mine where he worked - don’t worry, he didn’t have to load it into his car and bring it home without anyone seeing, it was a national thing. Every miner had the opportunity of free coal allowance, it was one of the benefits of working in the ‘pit’ – most took advantage of it, hence my grandmother and aunt’s coal fires.

My kids have never had to learn how to make a fire because when their dad left the mine and the coal system got old and failed (dumping filthy water into the living room), we had the coal fire taken out and a new, cleaner system put in.

As I explained in a previous post, I requested a new multi-fuel burner and it saves us money hand over fist!

As you can see, the fire is let out overnight and the ashes are cold by the time I get up.

It’s dusty and dirty but doesn’t take long to ‘fettle it’ as grandma used to say. Cleaning the glass is a filthy job, but being able to see the flames is lovely and makes for a cosier atmosphere, especially at night when the lights are off. You can only wash the glass when it’s cold (makes sense).

Taking out the ashes is only necessary every few days (sometimes four). I save the wood ash for the garden, plenty of nutrients you see. Potash is great for potatoes.
Solid fuel (phurnacite) ash is not good for the garden because it contains sulphur. Surprisingly, the ash from the solid fuel needs to be taken out every day, there is far more collected than by burning wood. Although, the advantage of the solid fuel is that it will stay in overnight if you close all the vents.

Laying the kindling is a matter of scraps of cardboard (insides of kitchen roll, toilet roll etc) on top of paper with slivers of wood and bark on top of that.

I save scraps of bark and slivers of wood when sorting out the woodpile, it makes great kindling, lights easily and there’s no chopping – win-win!

Once the paper has burned away, the kindling should be nicely lit and you can put on a couple of thinner branches or logs – not too much, the chimney needs to be hot enough to draw the fire and dense wood can overwhelm it and put it out (very frustrating).

Once they are going, the next log can be put in place, the bottom closed and the vent adjusted to keep the fire going, putting out the optimum amount of heat. If it’s a blustery day but not too cold, the vent will need to be more closed because the chimney will draw the fire and cause it to burn faster and therefore hotter.

Wood fires benefit from a top vent and coal prefers the bottom vent being open. Also, wood is better on embers and ashes, whereas the solid fuel becomes stifled and can ‘suffocate’ if the ash isn’t raked through.

If you do get a wood burner or multi fuel burner (both wood and solid fuel) get to know your appliance. It benefits the home if you’re not blazing all your wood away, sending the heat up through the chimney, rather than into the room.
Don't mix the fuels though. Either wood OR coal, never both.

My little fire can take the chill off the whole house or make the living room toasty, depending on what we’re doing throughout the day. Someone with a chill or a cold would benefit greatly from the door being closed, served with hot, homemade soup and pampered – I suspect that will be hubby this weekend… he started with Man-flu last night…

Sort:  

It sure is! All I need is a little copper kettle and/or a traditional coffee pot and I'm set!

Looks good but I am not sure I will make it to the weekend with the flu.
If I survive I am holding you to the pampering and will supervise your work under the Land Rover.

Good Luck on that, hubby! Let me know how it works out... knowing that when I last tried mechanics, the instruction was to take off the exhaust and I was working on the swinging arm of that little motorbike you bought as spares for mine :D

nothing beats a fireplace at home on cold night. the sounds, the light, the warmth. and s'mors

I've never tried s'mores - wow, I've lived a deprived life ;)

haha. well. they're super sweet and gooey. really messy to eat sometimes. The chocolates melts with the marshmellow while the gram crackers add just the right amount of crunch. You wont like it.😝

LOL! I may have to try it just to see how much I don't like it ;)

It looks not easy, but the result is so great!

It takes a few minutes - literally :)

Keeping an eye on the fire to begin with means it doesn't go out and as soon as there are glowing embers as a base, you can pretty much be certain it'll stay in if you feed it :)

We have a coal stove ourselves but one can burn wood in it too. That was all we had here for years. No one we knew had ever had one. Eventually after about six months, we determined the flue needed cleaning every week instead of every three months. We learned that in the dead of winter. A very cold adventure on the road to stove operation knowledge.

Ouch!
Ours will need sweeping every year perhaps less. We have a 'proper' chimney but with a flue liner to make the burning more efficient.

I remember one of the pubs I worked at had 4 very large fireplaces. I would get in early in the mornings to sweep, make and light the fires. Fetching all the coal and wood in from near the cellar, I used to feel a bit like Cinderella (without the fairy godmother).

Our first fire was a large oven/fire/warming oven stylee brilliant design as I remember :)

It's filthy work to clean out the fireplace and fetch in coal... but it's well worth it :) I hardly use the central heating system now.

I envy you, I would love a fire. Really fancy a woodburning stove. I have a chimney that's boxed in- so maybe one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43