Pondering a bit about life

in #life5 years ago

I recently accepted a job ...

It has been a long time since I've been in a position like this ...

I woke up this morning dreading going to work. I was still tired from the day before. I hadn't had the time to accomplish the things that were important to me and I was not excited about spending the day with my bee co-worker.

Is this what everyone else feels?
And more importantly, is this what everyone else endures??

This can not be good.
Today is literally my third day.
I took the job because I wanted to make some $$ but geeeeeeez is it worth it.

One other path I have considered is literally just walking around the United States with a pack of gear, working as needed to make money for food and drink and living my life with along it's own pace.

Where is the middle ground?
How do we find balance with this?

The idea of doing this week after week, year after year is not frightening ... It's deadening.

I imagine what I would be like after years of subservience in this manner and I see a flacid blanket of skin wrapped around the shell of what used to be a man.

I am not saying that jobs are bad. That is inherently untrue. But, if thinking about your job elicits a legitimate negative emotionally response, you might want to consider doing something about it.

The key for me is:
Health first
Fulfilling work
Giving back

So far I've yet to really check off any boxes with this new crew.

I was excited about the position but sense a lack of compatibility with my coworker.

I enjoy carpentry but also know that the decks I am building don't solve any legitimate problems.

And lastly, forcing myself to wake up at this time has added a level of stress to my life that will ultimately, unless handled, lead to exhaustion ... Which for me equates to depression.

What are the positives of this experience.
I was stimulated to launch my own company. Lol, two days in and I've had enough of the employee life ... Back to being an entrepreneur

I've developed some interpersonal skills that I can carry with me forever.

I also learned some valuable marketing skills and techniques.

Everything in life has value ... Especially you

What are you trading yourself for?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You are so on point on these you have said. We need to be of value before we can attract what is used to determine value which is money. However, I am of the opinion that a person may do all these you have suggested, yet unable to rise up in life. What I think is missing is that all must join hands to enrich ourselves and others in our environment; intellectually, spiritually and physically so as to stay motivated while we do all what we do.

This is true @ojebaba ... The environment we are in has a strong force that it exerts upon us. This is not always the limit of who we are ... When our environment challenges us it gives us the opportunity to grow. When we have grown all we can we must leave and move on

Posted using Partiko Android

I think that most people have, at some point in their lives, endured things for a long-term goal, regardless of what that goal is. There's a significant difference between working and doing a job, the latter being the thing most of us are trying to avoid.

I think it's important to work for yourself, even if you hate your current job, for there are always things you can learn. It's easier said than done, of course, especially if hate your job, but it's possible.

Ultimately, I think you should stick to your beliefs and act intuitively. If your intuition is screaming and yelling "Quit", then quit and try to find other ways of earning extra cash. Upvoting helps, which is why I'll continue to upvote your posts :)

Quite a quagmire to findyourself @metama!! But no empathy😄
Why?

Life has been and will continue to be a walk, needing energy and will against grains of inconveniences.Yours can't be exception!!

Choices are yours to make. No compulsion as it is a free world.
But Can we afford a life of leisure, Completely free of ALL inconveniences?? That only exist in the Cemetery, which is not our abode for now!!

Thus:

Accept Responsibility of Standing by the choice(s) made as we maneouvre around their attendant inconveniences with a hearty and cheerful disposition; striving for an anticipated Glorious End!!

Communal Efforts are necessary for Progress in any endeavour, especially as we are created as Social beings . Thus , even if the nuances of our colleagues falls short of our standards, we ought to strive to accommodate this to forge Harmony.We can never live in Islands of Isolation devoid of others minimal infringements.!!

Nevertheless, if the foregoing is not commitable; the best is to quit and plot another ALTERNATIVE. Life is too short to gloat around !!

We wish @metama the Bests!

Hahahaha thank you @whyaskwhy for the words of wisdom

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @metama. Today I was talking about that. As a person, you can spend your whole life doing the same thing. Sitting behind a desk. Life can not be that. It must be more dynamic, more satisfying. But they do not teach us to be entrepreneurs. they condition us to be consumers, sheep for the slaughterhouse. I hope that can change.

Exactly why I don't work that way any more. My husband and I were able to create passive income (your money making you money) granted I understand we are in a unique situation to be able to do this. I will find almost any means of money rather than working 9-5 for a company. While I am a great employee it just leaves me slowly dying inside. I have almost always worked for myself but even that leads quickly to boredom. I have to have something creative and and that can make money. Right now I am starting a life coaching business and working with others. I have been doing this for about a year now and it fuels me like nothing else. Even just creating daily social media content is the highlight of my morning. So maybe for some we just really need to follow the passion even if it doesn't lead to money right away.

@mistysummers send me a message in telegram @j00ze . I would love to talk to you on my podcast

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok this is the second post I read from you and I'm feeling your vibe way too much:P Call me crazy but I LITERALLY feel as if I wrote these lines. Are we psychic yet?🔮
I literally share the exact same mindset on life... :P
it's bad.. some days I really do wish I was born in the time during which people lived in the nature... Nature has everything we need srs. It's not for nothing that people who live in tribes in the nature don't want a single contact with the external world (a.k.a. society). They know it's bad.

Sending you positive vibes and faith! (I feel ya on the coworker issue.. what can I say... it's not everyone who is enlightened enough to vibe with an epic human like you!)

One love shawty!

Respppeeeecccctttt @steemityourway ... Take that aspect of nature (abundance) and apply it to the modern world.... We still have everything we need in our environment

Posted using Partiko Android

I already stalked the f*** out of ya:P listened to your most recent podcast!:P
You killing it!!

We have everything we need. This chase for material is endless and we will never experience profound joy from it. But the chase for wisdom... is limitless;)

Reminds me of a quote from one of my fave spiritual teachers:
" Many people are alive but don't touch the miracle of being alive. "
-Thich Nhat Hanh

Through meditation, I touch this miracle daily ;)

Congratulations @metama! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @metama! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The key for me is:
Health first
Fulfilling work
Giving back

I agree with this. My first priority is health. I was working in a company before and the commute was very bad. I got sick because of hyperacidity. That's when I decided to quit my job and work online. I've been traveling to different places while bringing my job as a digital nomad.

I write my travel on my blog at https://www.itravelrox.com/blog although I also write on Steemit using personal and random thoughts.

Feeling good about something you do, is really a state of mind. You can choose to be in that state or a different one.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts @metama.

This is definitely true @guysellars. Trying to focus on the fact that I have the opportunity to work opposed to that I have to

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55