Human Beings -- The Secret To Understanding Our Strengths AND Weaknesses

in #life5 years ago

I started reading a new book ... "Managing Planet Earth" by Scientific America...

it has helped me shed a frustration or distaste that I have held for a while.

I grew up in the 90's ...

being naively unaware of the world around me led me to have a rather relaxed childhood.

Life was wonderful,

the internet was fast (relatively) and I enjoyed myself quite thoroughly ...

As I grew older that started to change.

I became more aware of the world around me.

I became more aware of the suffering that existed.

Inequality, injustice and inhumane behavior all began to flow into my stream of consciousness ...

I became angry

I questioned the humans that came before me.

download.jpeg

How could they have acted like this?

How could they have such blatant disregard for our future citizens

And ... for a long time I thought they were bad ... or just evil

Now I see things a bit differently.

Human beings have been burning fossil fuels for about two centuries now ...

In the grand scheme of things that is 3 to 4 generations (depending on where you live)

This is how I see things .

The first fella's (and ladies) were super excited about being able to do things more efficiently

The second group were determined to take this new power and use it to expand, grow and improve their society.

The third group got kind of comfortable and just enjoyed the benefits of technology and energy abundance ...

maxresdefault.jpg

and now you have us.

We are the first generation to ever experience, first hand, the effects of anthropogenic climate change.

It's a very human quality to only focus on problems that are directly impacting you.

gyddhd4cxh121.jpg

Therefore,

it's quite understandable that we are the only ones that are really trying to solve the problem.
The baby boomers seem quite content to let themselves die off ...

now it's up to us to clean up the mess.

Even though there are exceptions to the rule,
I am no longer mad at our predecessors for consuming as they did.

they did not no the wrong they were doing

they did not know the debt they were incurring

Sure, we still have a lot of work to do ...

I am no longer angry

I forgive you for burning fossil fuels
I forgive you for starting all of these unnecessary wars
I forgive you for tricking us into excessive consumption to feed your greedy economies ...

I forbid you to do it any longer

IMG_2004-1-e1504554952465.jpg
We all need to work together to start creating a new Earth ...

and ...

I know many of us already are.

Hopefully, if you were like me this post may ease some of your suffering...

I have been angry for too long and now have chosen to let that go.
I am moving forward, with peace and love in my heart, and determination in my mind...

shall we make a heaven on this earth??

I vote yes

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @metama
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Oh yeah!

Nothing to worry about in anything and everything.
Worry is actually useless.
But there are moments in our existence that we get worried but if we're aware and mindful that this worries are useless, then we just ignore them and move on or shift our thoughts to other things that would lead us to be better.

How do you practice mindfulness?

Posted using Partiko Android

I practice mindfulness through constant and consistent prayer and meditation.
It was developed and built through faith, knowledge and experience from the moment I was born until this day.

Love iiiiiitttt

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Hi, @metama!

You just got a 7.23% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @metama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.877 which ranks you at #11884 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 11881).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 163 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92