You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't call them KIDS

in #life7 years ago

I never considered "kids" to be derogatory. Yes, I have three boys and one stepson. I call them my kids. I've also called them rug slugs, bugs, rotten so and sos, and some stronger language... But part of the culture I grew up in was that being "insulted" was a term of endearment. If we were being super nice that meant someone better duck and cover, if you know what I mean.

Sort:  

I appreciate that as we all have had similar experiences... but perhaps that was the original intent of the term Kids. A derogatory term nonetheless and if we wonder why many young children have low self esteem, maybe this is in part due to our language to each other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69