New Years Eve (FINALLY)! Looking Back Over My 2017...

in #life7 years ago

IMG_2453.JPG

This picture was taken on a weekend away at Phillip Island, Vic, Australia. It's one of my favourite memories from 2017!

Finally, I don't know about you guys but I'm kind of happy 2017 is coming to an end. For me personally, it's not been the 'best' year. Whether it was being unemployed, employed, fired, broke, or simply just unhappy, that was my life this year.

Of course not all of it was bad. I had some up moments. I got to travel to my favourite part of Australia (Brisbane, QLD), I went to America for the first time, I found Steemit, my boyfriend got a new puppy, we adopted another dog as well as a kitten - we love animals, can you tell? I also landed a temping job, it proved to me not every workplace has to be shit.

I've realised this year that no matter what life throws at you, you've just got to stay positive. It's easier said than done, trust me I know, BUT it can be done. I'm coming out of 2017 positive, this year has been a shit storm but each day's a new day and I've got to make 2018 a better year.

My hard-drive with all my pictures broke this year so there's not many but here's the pictures that I have left!

Some of my highlights of 2017 (the good ones):

IMG_1126.JPG

Meet Hector. My boyfriends Sarplaninac puppy. He was a great little guy but unfortunately due to circumstances we had to find him a new home - We miss him everyday but he's a good memory and we've got to hold onto those good ones, right?

IMG_1206.PNG

I know I look like I'm 12 here but this is one of my favourites. Basically, my boyfriend and I have had a pretty rough year (thanks 2017), but this picture was taken when we stood together & got through the rough times.

IMG_1425.JPG

This was the day we adopted Luna. She's a Golden Retriever/Labrador and is just an amazing, affectionate dog who's brought us a lot of happiness.

IMG_2559.JPG

Yes, we were on that boat!! It went very fast and it was pretty cold that day too but it was a great experience. This was taken when we went to Phillip Island (I've wrote a previous post on that trip if you want to check it out).

20916052_1868687466476572_495178426_n.jpg

Our trip to Brisbane... hopefully in 2018 I can afford to move up there (fingers crossed!)

25270949_2034203076591676_747649187_o.jpg

My absolute favourite part of America, Harry Potter world in Universal Florida. We had so much fun here and I will definitely be going back!

26195117_2064746176870699_240519344_o.jpg

My New Years Eve 2017 consisted of:

Taking my lovely dog out for a morning walk - which we do every morning so it's not that special.

26195100_2064746286870688_1888983842_o.jpg

Getting some things together and going for a picnic with my family and boyfriend by the river. If you've read some of my previous posts then you'd know that I LOVE the river and it's my favourite place to be. It's even better when you're surrounded by people you love.

We then took Luna (Our adopted dog) out to her favourite park as she couldn't come with us to the picnic.

26236584_2064746346870682_684267719_o.jpg

Then, I went back to my boyfriends house where we watched some episodes of 'Orphan Black.' I'm actually quite enjoying it so I'd recommend it for someone wanting a new series to binge.

Now I'm back home, writing this and getting ready to go see the fireworks at midnight. Every time I get my laptop out and start writing my dog will always come and distract me. This is him posing for a photo.

26194343_2064746453537338_480281810_o.jpg

Looking back on 2017 I'm not going to allow myself to see all of the negative things I came across this year. Instead, I'm going to look at what I got out of the year and what I learnt. Whether you've had an amazing year or a terrible one, don't let the bad outweigh the good.

IMG_5020.JPG
I'm always going to love the snapchat filters guys!!

I hope you all have a great night and stay safe!

Don't forget to check back in tomorrow for Chapter two of my short story series.

Until next time,

Meliss

Sort:  

Great blog post.... upvoted and followed. I'm in Canada where it is -40 Celsius on New Years Eve.

Thank you :) oh wow that's crazy! Let's just say it's a little bit warmer here in Australia!

Happy New Year @mel1ss! Here's hoping that 2018 brings happiness and success!

Happy New Year @jbcoin! You too!!

Thank you all! 🙂

happy new year amzing photography dear

Thank you :)

Awesome post @mel1ss... have upvoted & resteemed :) Looking forward to tomorrows post.

Thank you! :) haha yes me too!!

Great post! I love, "Whether you've had an amazing year or a terrible one, don't let the bad outweigh the good." This is a great perspective to have on life. Have a happy & healthy New Year =)

Thank you! You too :)

Really good post , 2018 here we come ..

Thank you! Here's to 2018 :)

Congratulations @mel1ss! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @jbcoin. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66