Twilight

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1853752729.jpg

I bustled into the lounge. The good lady cocked me a suspicious glance.

What are you up to?...

Nothing baby. Fear not. Nothing to see here. Move along.

I dragged a chair from the table over to under the main light and stood on it. She looked on ever more quizzically until she saw me pull the fragile glass globe from my pocket.

Hang on... Are you changing the light bulb?

Might be.

I said nonchalantly as I stuck my arm up the lamp-shade's arse and started fiddling about.

1509305704-picsay_20171030182443964.jpg

But there is nothing wrong with the bulb. It was on this morning?

I had a mad gleam in my eye as I turned to her whilst my arm was buried up to the elbow in lampage.

Don't try to gainsay me, baby. There are some things a man should never be gainsaid on.

Gainsay? Have you been going daft with the coffee again?!?

I paused mid-screw, swivelling my head on caffeine'd bearings till it pointed at her. I calmed my rapid breathing and tried my very best to project an aura of calm. An air of statesmanship, so that I could convey my message succinctly to her.

That is by the by. I can't stand it. I can't stand living in this twilight anymore. It's like the 18th century in here. This wan piss yellow light dribbling from above onto our heads...

I paused to take a breath.

I NEED LIGHT.

1509305704-picsay_20171030182829351.jpg

These energy saving light bulbs are all well and dandy baby. But what if you actually want to see? I can't see in my own house. For the love of god I need light. I need it! Good honest white light that a man can be manly in. Not this...

I gesticulated at the light above and then around the room.

*Not this half-life by candlelight. I am drawing a line in the sand baby. A line in the SAND. No more, I say. NO MORE. The environment can go and fuck itself. I demand to see and to be seen.

I brandished the bulb in my hand at her whilst the other still rooted around in the wildly swinging light shade.

1509305704-picsay_20171030183406496.jpg

LEDS baby! L.E.D.S! That's where we are going. The world can burn as long as I can see it do so. Don't try to stop me. I mean it, I will brook no nonsense. You hear me, I will brook no nonsense!

The good lady looked at me fondly.

Alright then.

She went back to reading her Kindle.

I pulled my hand out of the light shade's arse.

I will brook no nonsense.

You said that.

Right.

I went back to my bulb changing. Somehow it felt like I had been beaten by a grandmaster.

Sort:  

we changed 7 of our most frequent use lights with LED, (still have 7 less frequent use traditional lights), and guess what?
our electrical bill drop around 15~20% ever since!!!
so, the next time any old lamp broken, just replace them with LEDs, they sure save us a lot in the long run.
trust me, you will get back your investment in just a few months!

I totally hope so, I don't care so much as long as I can see. The low power bulbs we had were awful!

I did the maths. You can throw your old bulbs in the bin, and within a year or so the new LEDs will have saved their own cost.

That all sounds good to me! Operation replace is ongoing!

interesting story @meesterboom

Thank you

hmm, my story is little different, my x-wife was asking me always to replace all saving fluorescent lights by normal bulb yellow lights of 50watts or 75 watts, she was happy with the sunny feeling at night.
for me I was not happy as this will cause me to pay more money for the electrical bill.
so one day I decided to make it as a surprise to my wife and to change all yellow ugly lights by saving ones.
I went to the market and I was shocked to hear the prices of these saving lights as if I will buy 16 ligh then I will pay 4 years value of electrical bills, I said GOD BLESS yellow lights.

and I went home with pack of 6 cheap yellow lights of 50 watts .
this story happened before 18 years back, when the saving lights were rare.

now adays, these lights are found in candy shop... :)

Hehe, yes. They used to very expensive. Quite cheap now!

I've been buying the LEDs lately, what I like about them too is they are supposed to last something like 30 years. If they last 10 I'll be impressed enough. Well even if you lost the battle, now you can at least see around the house I hope.

The longevity and the clarity of the light was what sold me. I am honestly baffled though. The good lady was the one that isnsisted we move to the equivalent of candlelight and I have moaned ever since about how dim everything was. I didnt expect her to roll over like that! It must have been annoying her too

Ahh, I think you've pinned it! That makes the most sense.

They are pretty efficient these days boom, and less chance of setting your arse/lampshade on fire. A win for mankind all round!

That's my kind of winning! :0D

Ahh lightbulbs. I had to call my next door neighbour to help me change the bathroom one because I was wasn't manhandling the shade enough to get it off.. My husband was useful for one thing then ;)

Hehe, one thing only ;0)

I can deal with the energy savers in the bedroom and the living room, maybe even the dining room. But the kitchen? Give me the full 100 watts man! Bathroom? I have to see to shave!

Totally!! I needs that light to do stuff!!

Real men always in charge, they know what they want as time revolves, they never give shit!

Go go go for the light!

It's all about that light!

My friend, @meesterboom Here is a well deserved up-vote for you! I never forget anyone who helps me become stronger and you fed me with 11 STEEM and the last time you fed me was 10 days ago. Your effort meets my strength and enables me to help you and your friends even more!

Yours, Spinny

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @eastmael and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

Powered by @adsactly.

Love you spinbot! :0)

Welcome to the 21st century! LED lights are awesome; however, i have never got the life expectancy out of them like they say on the box.

They are never honest with this kind of thing. They have to have their wild claims for luring you in :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66