Thursdays With Uncle Boom #99

in #life5 years ago

titlepic.jpeg

I can't help but feel a little bit scared. It is going to be alright isn't it, Boomy?

Jessique pressed herself hard against me and I fancied I could feel the pulsing heat of her wimble through her long coat.

Of course, my darling. I will not let anyone harm you. On this you have my solemn word.

I felt her body relax slightly like a cat finally giving in to the flames of a fire.

The rickety lift we were riding in gave a cheery ping as it sounded our arrival on the 19th floor of the Rich-Stream building.

We have arrived my darling.

I took a celebratory puff of my pipe as the doors opened. Now, only a couple of flights of stairs stood between us and my mysterious nemesis who held my good friend, Dobbers, hostage and who had demanded that I meet him here at midnight.

Whoever my nemesis was I suspected he had a fondness for musical theatre and slip-on shoes.

1561744642-picsay_20190628190149182_20190702180723778_20190703135413398_20190704194929301.jpg

My baccy smoke gathered in the narrow stairwell like a black thunderhead above our heads as we tackled the first flight of stairs.

It was a fine baccy, Dreams of Wolf's End. Perhaps darker and more tarry than my normal smoke but it had a very satisfying bite.

We pushed on to the top. Despite it only being a couple of flights, Jessique was panting as if having just ridden the long dog of the night.

I made a mental note to send her out running, perhaps for breakfast each morning to fitten her up.

The door was slightly ajar, the purple ink of the night beyond spilling through into the decaying amber of the stairwell lights.

And here we go.

I heaved the doors open and strode out onto the roof proper. Jessique followed, her head fearfully jerking every which way.

The rooftop was empty.

Disappointingly so.

Boomy, I don't understand. Didn't the man say to meet here at midnight? There is no-one here?

She held her arms out and twirled in the moonlight. She was quite enchantingly beautiful. My heart caught in my chest for a moment.

Ah, but my darling. It is not yet time. I bought us early. We have two minutes yet and I suspect our 'man' as you call him to be a punctual fellow.

I stepped forward and took her hand. In the silence she spun, black and white under the Moon's cold embrace.

Here. Is that something on the floor?

I led her to a section of roof where the railing was broken and the black edge of the night danced beyond like a black tide.

pipes.jpeg

ENOUGH.

The metallic voice of Dobbers captor rang out

We both looked to the stairwell we had entered. Three shadowy figures hauled themselves clear of the doorway.

Ah there you are, old fellow. I was fairly sure you would not be late.

I took a swig of Mad Agnes from my hip flask as I addressed the figures some twenty feet from ourselves.

There was a metallic clank and then a buzz before several powerful lights blazed on.

I recognised Dobbers immediately, he was being held tightly by some moustachioed thug who was holding a pistol at his left temple.

The third figure I also recognised.

As did Jessique.

Boomy!? How can this be? That man! That man there, he is you?!. What's going on!?!

I gazed over at a younger version of myself. It truly was me. Slightly bitter and less handsome but unmistakably myself.

Young Me sneered contemptuously at Jessique.

Oh, how quickly you forget, Jessique.

He waggled his tongue obscenely at her and she cowered against me in response.

He turned to face me, his face becoming bleak and then enraged.

You killed Jemima you black-hearted BASTARD. Did you think I would never find out?

He took a pace toward me, his finger thrusting forth accusingly.

And now you will FUCKING DIE FOR IT!

Jessique squealed and buried her head in my chest.

Boomy, what is he saying? How can there be two of you!? I don't understand!?

I ran a hand softly through Jessique's hair and made to speak but Young Boomy broke in first.

Oh! Hasn't he said by now?? Surely he must have told you that...

agentnevtells.jpeg

Tune in, next week for the final and shocking conclusion to the Uncle Boom series...

Sort:  

Ha. I was wondering if the time travel theme would make one last appearance. I'm interested to see where this goes. Seems like a paradox might be in order.

There might not be a paradox!! You just never know. Couldn't let it end without some time traveling madness and if anyone is going to end Boomy it would have to be Boomy himself!

Of course the only person wily enough to finish off Uncle Boom is himself. But will he? Tune in for the grand finale next week to see which Boomy prevails...

Hehe, absolutely. No-one could best Boomy but Boomy!!!

You are either test tube twins or that bloody stop watch you pinched. Episode 53 or something back in the winter of 2018. Young Boomy must win unless you have the watch in your pocket you sly rascal.

Hahaha, oh you are a one!!! That old timepiece, I wonder what happened to it!! :0D

hahaaaa....I did not expect that! Your imagination really knows no bounds and it's fantastic LOL

Hehe, glad it was a surprise. Cheers lass!!!

Oh my, what a freakin' eerie plottwist! Time-travel!? What the Q is going on!?

Exactly, such madness. But in the end. The end deserves such madness! :0D

Oh no, the end, the final episode, number 100. It's madness, looking forward to it. 😎
(And then the hard-cover published, with a discount for Steemians. 😁👍)

Hehe, there will definitely be a discount for steemians!!

oh no! one more post. I know all good things must end but even on steemit? lol.

Yup!!! One last putting them boom!!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.229 which ranks you at #265 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 264).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 154 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 27.13% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meesterboom! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62