Thursday's With Uncle Boom #7

in #life7 years ago

1505982478-picsay.jpg

Today I availed myself to the docks to meet an old friend Barnaby Fotheringham, a prince of a man despite having eyes like a dog's testicles. He was looking to build on the sea front and had purchased the warehouse that we now looked upon. It was in quite the dilapidated state it must be said.

We picked our way through some debris to get a closer look. Barnaby blew out a splendid plume of smoke from his pipe.

Hmm, will have to tear the whole thing down of course. Start from scratch.

I agreed, the place was a tip. As we moved closer to it, Barnaby yanked at my sleeve.

fgh-picsay_20170919171537974_20170920185639419_20170921184645804.jpg

Bloody hell man, what is that?

I looked at the misshapen lump that we had narrowly avoided treading upon. It moved slightly. Barnaby poked it with his stick.

Is it some kind of sea otter?

I looked more closely.

Don't think so old fellow, I think it's a beggar in a blanket.

Nonsense, it's a bloody sea otter.

I'm quite sure it's a beggar in a blanket, look at its eyes.

A beggar? A beggar in a bloody blanket? It's a bloody sea otter and it's on my land. Quick man, fetch me some fire.

He was an astute fellow Barnaby, you could always count on him to solutionise a problem. I fetched my waterproof matches from my pocket.

There you go old chap, these should do.

Barnaby quickly set the sea otter and it's blanket ablaze. I pursed my lips in disapproval at the thing's screams.

It's a bad business this, all that noise. What say you to a brandy?

Barnaby concurred and we moved on to the billiards club where we smacked some balls together over some hot brandy.

Later that evening I puffed on my pipe and fired up the pooter. It had been a productive day but I knew that I was not yet done. After all, today was the day I stretched my hands out to my fellow Steemians in need. Let them not drown in dismay nor sink in silence, for today is my ever solid

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803172706243_20170810172140343_20170824183323106.jpg

SpamFarmer1: Hallo! Komt u uit Nederland? Ik heb onlangs lid geworden en zou het waarderen uw begeleiding

Uncle Boom: What the fuck is that? Is this writing? Are those actual words? That last one... Does that mean gelding? Gelding!? You insult me in a barely human tongue? Take you and your satanic verse to bloody fuck you silk purse of a man.

Whatever next?

SpamFarmer2: which coin to buy for short term?

Uncle Boom: Not even a bloody hello?

SpamFarmer2: Hello. How did you get started in crypto?

Uncle Boom: I met your fucking mother and she drove me to drink, I had to find a way to pay the bills and crypto seemed easiest. Now beat it, you rude sea otter before I get the matches out.

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803175417428_1.jpg

Well, another brandy is in order I think, to celebrate some splendid advisements. Good day to you my effervescent readers. I do hope to see you again next week.

If you need help and you have a problem please don't hesitate to kick my barn doors in on the chats. Your anonymity is assured. Because...

15010hs_20170801211922612_20170802194535670_20170803174641395_1.jpg

Sort:  

Hallo! Komt u uit Nederland? Ik heb onlangs lid geworden en zou het waarderen uw begeleiding

It's Dutch, but not as we know it. Grammatically unsound. Smarts a bit. Cane him.

Meesterboom is also Dutch, of course, which may have fooled the language-raping commenter.

It translates as "Master Tree".

Lol, I have been told the Master Tree thing before, I quite like it!

I get you, I suspect he was fishing for for favour because he thought I was Dutch but he wasn't Dutch, how bloody devious. You are right, the cane for him!!!

image
Wow awesome story and funny as well.
Nice one @meesterboom keep it up.

Why thank you very much, I shall indeed!

wahahahahha
okay I get your reaction but
he was asking if you're from holland and he's new would l
he must have thought you were Dutch because of the Dutch oven man :)

Hehe, I knew that, I ran it through a translator! It did amuse me no end to toy with him though. Today I apologise to all the dutch for Uncle Boom's bad ways :O)

Loves ya lady!

You're welcome.

OMG, I haven't even read yet...but the "Thursdays with Uncle Boom graphic"...priceless!

Hehe, you like!! I try to come up with a new one every now and then :0D

Hallo! Komt u uit Nederland? Ik heb onlangs lid geworden en zou het waarderen uw begeleiding
This is a lot like my home language. You should be nice...lol...he asked for your guidance only. If I had to rewrite what he wrote in Afrikaans it would be like this:
Ek het onlangs lid geword van Steemit. Ek sal dit waardeer indien u my leiding kan gee.
(awful language...lol)

I have noticed before the similarity between Afrikaans and Dutch!! That last word did look like grossing though didn't it!!

Raging your translation it almost sounds German. Says the Scotsman people struggle to understand lol

We are mixed breeds. From all over. We stole some English, German, Dutch and French words and made up our own language...lol...
I am for some reason good with languages. I used to be fluent in Zulu, Northern Sotho, Afrikaans and English. Don't speak the first two often anymore so I have forgotten a lot. I speak Afrikaans but I hate to write in Afrikaans. I also don't listen to Afrikaans music. Strange isn't it?

That's is quite strange but how splendid it is to have learned and forgotten than never to have learned at all!

What is bad about writing in Afrikaans?

Good post !
Great reply's !
hahahaha :-))

Thursday with Uncle boom is always fun and you always perform ,,,good post

Cheers mate. Gotta let the old feller out for a tootle every week :O)

Uncle Boom is a legend. Fook them bloody sea otters! Very funny story mate!

I like to think he is a legend! :0)

ciao, saggio zio boom, quali valute conviene comprare nel breve periodo?

:D Sorry

Lol, Spanish and Italian!!! Hehe... Wait, is that last word... period? As in the bloody flux of a lady. For shame! What foulness!!

(Damn, I used a Ita-Eng false-friend word!)
Ehm, I apologize, Master Meester! I didn't intend to disturb you! ;)

Hehehe!! I forgive you! ;O)

solutionise a problem my love remains true!

The graphic is awesome my friend! Well done!

Cheers old dog!! I particularly enjoyed this one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84